predictably unpredictable

12May06

How many roads must a man walk down
Before you call him a man?
Yes, 'n' how many seas must a white dove sail
Before she sleeps in the sand?
Yes, 'n' how many times must the cannon balls fly
Before they're forever banned?
The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind,
The answer is blowin' in the wind.

How many times must a man look up
Before he can see the sky?
Yes, 'n' how many ears must one man have
Before he can hear people cry?
Yes, 'n' how many deaths will it take till he knows
That too many people have died?
The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind,
The answer is blowin' in the wind.

How many years can a mountain exist
Before it's washed to the sea?
Yes, 'n' how many years can some people exist
Before they're allowed to be free?
Yes, 'n' how many times can a man turn his head,
Pretending he just doesn't see?
The answer, my friend, is blowin' in the wind,
The answer is blowin' in the wind.

-Bob Dylan

Predictably unpredictable. That's how a friend of mine used to describe me. Makes sense now.

Is there comfort in routine? Is there a need to validate our existense by our innate need to feel? Is hope really a good thing or does it just offer false promises that bring back memories of a better time? How long do we have to live till we are truly free? Is freedom an illusion? Is certainity a myth? Did Andy Wachowski really marry a dominatrix? Do we have to be a compulsory participant in the inconsequential emotional dramas of life? Are love, happiness and success simply figments of the human imagination? Is Kevin Spacey really gay? Are dreams an hopes the same or are they just equally unacheivable? Does anything really matter in the end? If so, what truly matters? Why does life seem too short and sometimes far too long? Why am I so confused?

The answers my friends, are blowing in the wind.

 

9 Responses to “predictably unpredictable”

  1. u started drinking ????

  2. Would you be satisfied if you got all the answers??? I hate/love being me. Cause is life is too freaking wierd.

  3. 3 Joel Robinson

    Hmmm…..hope girls are at not watching over your blog….they will give bigger comment…..(will start a mini blog on your comment page !!!)

  4. Hmmm… Here are some answers, to what I honestly think are rhetorical questions. The answers are but elucidations that went on in my mind, trying to answer them :-D!! Also, to analyse the awesome writing put in here :-D!

    Is there comfort in routine?
    For some, yes, for others no. I personally know of few examples, who are probably addicted to routine. I also know of myself, who would die with routine!! πŸ˜€

    Is there a need to validate our existense by our innate need to feel
    Hmm… tougher for its philosophical value. Yes, man does need to validate his existence today. Isn’t that why you studied, you work, you try various things, to leave your mark in the world? Dogs have it so much easier. They just need to piss to “make their mark” :-D!! Life is just so less complicated for them :-D!! So, I hear ya ;-)!

    Is hope really a good thing or does it just offer false promises that bring back memories of a better time?
    Oh yes, I love talking about this now, don’t i? Am I making this comment too long? Should I just trackback? Will decide after writing the whole thing…

    Anyway, hope can be a dangerous thing. I somehow disagree with the concept that Hope is what fuels life. I disagree for the very same reason that you have asked in the latter part of your question. Hope could lead you into trouble πŸ˜€

    How long do we have to live till we are truly free?
    Hmmm… Aren’t you free, from the very day you are brought into this world? The other question that I think arises outta this is… What do you mean by live?

    Is freedom an illusion
    If we are in the Matrix, yes man… It is ;-)!!

    Is certainty a myth?
    That brings an interesting explanation. Finally everything and nothing is undefinable. Well, as explained by my dad – how we really consider, comprehend things is by OBSERVATION. If everything and nothing is made up of the same basic thing, we can _never_ observe it. Why? Well, observation is only because of some change. Any change, direct or indirect. The very basic entity, by its definition would never change. Hence, we can never observe it :-D!

    Do we have to be a compulsory participant in the inconsequential emotional dramas of life?
    Depends on how you see it man. As part of “living” your life explanation, experiencing every bit of it holds true. So, enjoy the experience of being in such dramas in life :-D!

    Are love, happiness and success simply figments of the human imagination?
    Money Money Money You could post your comments on the same :-D!!

    Are dreams an hopes the same or are they just equally unacheivable?
    Hmmm… Dude, you have to relax :-D!!

    Why does life seem too short and sometimes far too long? Why am I so confused?
    Hehehe… For this, I agree with joel Robinson…. πŸ˜‰

    Anyhoo, I have just one comment at the end. :-D!! Sorta like a closing statement. I know probably what you are going through. and these songs just make it worse dude.

    You must be at one of those points in life, where in aspirations and running high in your spirit, however, you aren’t exactly doing anything about it. But, life is out there buds. All ya gotta do is live it. Things will be done. You need not stress out yourself. Now is the time to really, and I mean this sincerely enjoy it.

    I went through the phase where in I was kinda wondering if what I was doing would really get me to the end, which I thought was deserving for me. However, I realised that, ends are the ones that are a myth! Life became so much simpler.

    And beleive in this, got it from a friend, who got it from a source, he forgot – “Everything is OK in the end! If it’s not ok, it’s not the end” Makes life way simpler, I tell ya :-)!! But, keep the questions coming. They are really fun to read :-D!!

  5. Holy Cow – that must have been one boring jobless day in office :P!! But the next day marks one of the most important days in my life :-D!!

  6. @Guru The v for vendetta post came the next day?

  7. Nopes, but a comment that changed my life came that day on that post :-)!


  1. 1 the prestidigitator » me? indecisive?
  2. 2 Every Wednesday should be declared a holiday! « Ramblings of an Eccentric Soul

Leave a Reply

