busy?

26May06

I'm just done with this book called The Long Reverie of Partha Sarma by C Sriram that I just picked up a few days back. I don't say this about a lot of books but this is perhaps the best I've read since Catcher in the Rye. Putting into words how amazing this books is difficult, nonetheless it's pretty much the most well written piece of work by an Indian author.

It caught my eye just 'cos of the blurb on the back which went like:

The Long Reverie evocatively explores the recesses of a young man's mind- his baffled angst while trying to find some meaaning to his existence, his scathing rejection of society's hypocricies, his moment of surrender to the void- and the moment he steps back from the void to give himself a reprieve.

It's slightly on the philosophical side, a battle between two schools of thought namely, existentialism and sentimentalism.

I was checking up on the book but nobody's ever heard of it and the info on the net is zilch. Give critics a few months to read this one and I'm pretty sure that there are chances that this could become a classic for our generation.

There is this show on called House that I watched 'cos people kept raving about it and I must say, it was excellent. Very very sarcastic, sometimes a little too morbid but still very funny.

I've been running around these days thanks to all the stuff I gotta do before I join next month. Ran around the whole day trying to get hold of a PAN application form. They kept referring me to so many places that I got lost (which is not that hard considering my sense of direction) and had to catch an auto to get back.

 Later

Listening to Lady by Lenny Kravitz

6 Responses to “busy?”

  1. so wen u guys are joining the company ??

  2. Hey, you’re invited too. Please read my post from today. Don’t miss the comments. 🙂

    blessings,

    Shirley

  3. 3 sriram

    It’s the most wonderful feeling when someone likes one’s book–sincerely. Thanks ontheverge.
    Best,
    C. Sriram

  4. @sriram wow!!

  5. 5 sriram

    Hi ontheverge,
    Just wanted to let you know we’re having a book reading on the 16th of Dec, at the Golden Room, Taj Krishna, Road No 1, Banjara Hills, Hyd.
    It’d be great if you could join us.
    Best,
    Sriram


  1. 1 the prestidigitator » take comfort

Leave a Reply

