hiked again!

08Jun06

Alright, let me begin by saying that the recent hike in petrol and diesel prices do not affect me in any direct way, 'cos I'm more of a "bus person". OK, so the fact that I suck at driving may also be another reason. But I was just checking out the difference in petrol prices in various countries, developing nations mostly and trust me, I'm aghast!

 Following are 2 example prices (April 2006) in Rs/ltr

Malaysia 18.90

Pakistan 43.73

India      48.32

Now, if I'm not mistaken, India has a lot better reserves than Pakistan or Malaysia. So why the disparity? Is dirty politics the reason? Or is it the outrageous taxing? But whatever it is, it's high time the media did something about it. I think the media should be a little more biased when it comes to things like this. Frankly I'm tired of watching Rahul Mahajan's life being telecast like the Truman Show.

I went back to college to collect my Course Completion Cert yesterday. Reminded me how much I despised the whole place but then again, thank God for the people! We had an amazing set of friends!

(This ain’t where it’s at
My friends will second that
And I gotta admit sometimes it’s pretty sad
But it's like were our own brat pack
We're always kickin back nobody can take that
And that is that)

Brat Pack by Rocket Summer

 Plus there is this song by Less Than Jake called Mostly Memories that I kinda like:

I can't seem to recognize, either side of this modern version or
fading person i was, i tried to memorize dates and times of old
accidents and the failed attempts now, i'm still afraid of those
mistakes i've made. i'm mostly memories, most missed
opportunities, mostly minor tragedies, i'm mostly you and me.
i'm mostly memories, mostly missed opportunities, mostly
abnormalities, i'm mostly you and me, and you and you and
me. i can't seem to recognize, either side of my conversations or
contemplations i've done, i've tried to memorize the truth and
lies, of the facts and fictions and the half truth admissions i've
done. i'm still afraid of those mistakes i've made. i'm mostly
memories, mostly missed opportunities, mostly minor tragedies,
i'm mostly you and me. i'm mostly memories, mostly missed
opportunities, mostly abnormalities, i'm mostly you and me,
and you and you and me. out of luck and had enough
out of trust and out of touch, out of time i'm hanging up
i'm mostly memories, mostly missed opportunities, mostly
minor tragedies, i'm mostly you and me. i'm mostly memories,
mostly missed opportunities, mostly abnormalities, i'm mostly
you and me, and you and you and me.

Later

Listening to When I'm Gone by No Address

3 Responses to “hiked again!”

  1. Dude .. stop watching news channels . …. hmmm …

  2. HYDERABADS SIASAT URDU DAILY EDITOR IN SEX RACKET

    A Hyderabad based urdu newspaper siasat editor mr amir ali khan and mr mazhar and mr alamdar were involved in a sex racket today as exposed by MIM floor leader in the state assembly in which a young girl was sold to alleged sex racket after being brought in a trap by offering her a scholarship and then taking her to a farmhouse and raping her which are seirous offenses and even forcing her parents not to file a police complaint and threatnig them with dire consequences.Even the National Law Trust has sent a letter dated on 14-09-2006 signed by its Chairman Mr Khalid Nishu to all the Newspaper editors to take up the story as it damages the reputation of the media and the victim Mrs Mariam Fatima had even met the President of India seeking justice and the State Home Minister has appointed a team led by deputy Commissoner of police Mr Madhu Sudan Reddy IPS to investigate the case as promised by the Minister in the Assembly .

  3. @Madhu And this is related to petrol hikes because….?


Leave a Reply

