(new) things to do before turning 30

03Aug06

 images.jpgSometime back I wrote a post on things I want to do before turning 30  and from the looks of it I don’t think I’m really going to accomplish much. It suddenly hit me on the bus this afternoon that I’ll never be able to relive all this again. Time’s flying and life is far too beautiful and precious to just spend brooding over and/or thinking about! I’m going to update the list and I intend to do atleast half of the stuff on it by the time I turn 30!!!

  1. Do something adventurous…outdoors. Read parasailing, bungee jumping, diving(inspite of me not knowing how to swim), skiing(on real snow) etc…
  2. Write a memoir…on how a confused child grew up to become…a…well…confused adult!
  3. Travel. I want to go to as many places as possible. Norway, Thailand, Singapore, Germany, Switzerland, Brazil (and get a pic taken with a girl sporting that big fruit hat thing), France, Italy, NewZealand and ofcourse, The US of A!
  4. Make a movie. This is something I really want to do. Atleast a damn documentary…about …”Disillusionment”.
  5. Have a huuuuuge library with all the books I’ve read and the movies/music I love.
  6. Take a big risk with my career. Diversify by the time I’m 30 to a career nobody thought I was capable of.
  7. Learn to dance. Sigh…this is something I’m very skeptical about.
  8. Do a post graduation.
  9. Meet Umberto Eco and have a long chat with him. Won’t matter if I don’t understand a word he says!
  10. Learn to drive and then take a road trip.
  11. Shave my head atleast once.
  12. Meet Quentin Tarantino and tell him that I never really “got” Pulp Fiction.
  13. Buy limited editions of graphic novels by Alan Moore and Frank Miller.
  14. Wear shorts and sneakers to a formal dinner party.
  15. Go to a formal dinner party. (heh)
  16. Get a tattoo. But then again, it wouldn’t look that great when I turn 60.
  17. Sing in front of a crowd.
  18. Look into somebody’s eyes and say “I Love You”…and mean it! (Awwwwww!)
  19. Work for a non profit organisation that helps somebody. I know it’s easier said than done.
  20. Get drunk.
  21. Surprise people by actually not saying anything stupid for an entire week!
  22. Try Kopi Luwak…coffee with bat droppings!
  23. Make money on the stock market.

I’ll think of more things and maybe make another list soon!

Aaaargh! I’m so tired of being ordinary and I’m not even good at being ordinary! 🙂

Listening to The Fear You Won’t by Joshua Radin

20 Responses to “(new) things to do before turning 30”

  1. 1 Deepti

    Well…U can take a shot at one of ur desires….To not say somthin stupid for a week…Dont talk unless absolutely necessary…(read reporting to bosses…ugh!…hate that species)….And trust me …it actually works!!! Tried and tested!

  2. hehe…as it is people think im being a recluse…

  3. 3 sid

    yahooo .. uve made my day .. i have actually done a lot of em .. 🙂 ( gotta read ur other list and tick off some of em ) yea .. u have one life .. do whatcha ya thought u neva could/would mate!!!

  4. 4 sooraj

    tatoo???hmmm…lemme guess….superman

  5. wrong its a guy wearing Batman costume with his mask uncovered. and you can guess whose face is underneath the mask.

  6. Wait for my comments dude!! Wait for it… I will as soon as I get some bloody time!!

  7. @Sid What the hell? you’ve done most of this??? Now I feel like crap!!!

    @sooraj and bluesaze Well…the supes logo and batman logo are obvious choices arent they?? I was thinking more on the lines of a scaled down version of the solar system tattooed on my back!

    @Guru As always…bring it on! 🙂

  8. 8 Ben

    @PS:Darn, now where did i leave that Long list of mine..? Oh by the way, lets make that documentary, im in on it. Now if i can figure out where i left that wad of dollar bills (to buy your cam)..i couldve sworn i put it in the freezer….!

    2) update your blogroll.Your pointing to an outdated link.

  9. 9 j

    Nice choice of music – saw Josh live in Seattle a couple of weeks ago, great opening act. The easy pick from your list – volunteering for a non profit!

  10. 10 Ben

    You might wanna check out
    http://wildgrey.wordpress.com

  11. The name is Grey..Wild Grey!

    Am eagerly awaiting your next list.. My list is on the way..Im sure we might have a couple of things in common

  12. @Wildgrey So finally, back huh???Looking fwd to your list too…

  13. Linker errors with no access to the source: implies some time ;-)!!

    Here goes :-)!

    * Do something adventurous…outdoors. Read parasailing, bungee jumping, diving(inspite of me not knowing how to swim), skiing(on real snow) etc…

    Amen, been thinking of bungee jumping a lot lately ;-)!

    * Write a memoir…on how a confused child grew up to become…a…well…confused adult!

    Hehehe, yup!! We are all looking for that now aren’t we? Btw, adult?? Yet?? Impressive ;-)!

    * Travel. I want to go to as many places as possible. Norway, Thailand, Singapore, Germany, Switzerland, Brazil (and get a pic taken with a girl sporting that big fruit hat thing), France, Italy, NewZealand and ofcourse, The US of A!

    Well I wanna go to Togo :-D! and Cote D’iVore after their brilliant performances in the World Cup ;-)!

    * Make a movie. This is something I really want to do. Atleast a damn documentary…about …”Disillusionment”.

    Ya know I can be a perfect actor for that ;-)!!

    * Have a huuuuuge library with all the books I’ve read and the movies/music I love.

    I’d rather visit that library ;-)!

    * Take a big risk with my career. Diversify by the time I’m 30 to a career nobody thought I was capable of.

    Isn’t that what every1 wants? For me it’s gonna running a band!!

    * Learn to dance. Sigh…this is something I’m very skeptical about.

    ROFLMAO! Told you dude, just chill and do the jig 😉

    * Do a post graduation.
    * Meet Umberto Eco and have a long chat with him. Won’t matter if I don’t understand a word he says!

    Ok….. agree with post graduation. Btw, who the hell is Umberto Eco.

    * Learn to drive and then take a road trip.
    * Shave my head atleast once.

    Been there done that. Btw, dude, you BETTER learn how to drive :-P!! Unless you plan to hire a limo service for Natalie Portman :-D!

    * Meet Quentin Tarantino and tell him that I never really “got” Pulp Fiction.

    Don’t talk to me anymore. Where is LOTR? I am hunting for it now!!

    * Buy limited editions of graphic novels by Alan Moore and Frank Miller.

    Not really interested. As I told you, will check it out from your library!!

    * Wear shorts and sneakers to a formal dinner party.
    * Go to a formal dinner party. (heh)

    Been there done that :-)!

    * Get a tattoo. But then again, it wouldn’t look that great when I turn 60.
    * Sing in front of a crowd.
    * Look into somebody’s eyes and say “I Love You”…and mean it! (Awwwwww!)

    Tatoo – Oh yes!! Btw, by 60, your grandkids [if any] would only be too proud to have a tatoo laden grandpa ;-)!

    The other two – really awesome feeling buds!! Really mean it :-)!

    * Work for a non profit organisation that helps somebody. I know it’s easier said than done.

    Hmm, have to do that!!

    * Get drunk.
    * Surprise people by actually not saying anything stupid for an entire week!
    * Try Kopi Luwak…coffee with bat droppings!
    * Make money on the stock market.

    Check
    Check, hard but check
    No way check
    Not enough. Check!!

  14. @Guru You manage to crack me up!!!

    btw Umberto Eco’s the guy who wrote Name of the Rose and Foucault’s Pendulum….he’s really smart but I haven’t really understood everything he’s written! 🙂

    I have a license…can drive but at everyone else’s risk.

    OK…look I love the whole fragmented screenplay thing of Pulp Fiction and the lines were friggin’ awesome (Read “foot massage” and “Royale with cheese”) but at the end of the movie…I was like…”um…so???!!”

    Last evening I looked in the mirror and said “I love you” and I meant it! You’re right…it felt great!!! 🙂

    Tattoo may look cool now…but at 60…well…um…wrinkly tattoo!

  15. 15 JV

    Gee… I think I should also list the “things-to-do” before reaching 30. But there is so little time, and many tasks to do. I just wish that time would slow down even for awhile and live in a not-so-fast-paced world.:smile:

  16. right you are JV..right you are!

  17. WTF? Guys, there is enough and more time till you are 30!! 😛 God, you guys naa!!

    Anyhoo… @ PS: Dude, you did that y’day? Man, I do that everyday :P!! About teh tatoo, dude, depends… you could work out or just manage to be a Hugh Hefner and then you can have a tatoo anywhere at any age, and people will still not call it wrinkly.. or why not a tatoo of a wrinkle? It mite straighten out by that time ;-)!

  18. Thank You

  19. Hi,
    We are the suave coffee from Hong Kong. We supply best wild kopi Luwak coffee bean single origin frrom Indonesia. Wild and pure 100% wild Luwak from single origin. Luwak Coffee are carefully cleaned, natural sun dried, quality controlled, preserve the best Luwak beans. graded almost zero defect bean by international quality standard.

    Our Luwak coffee have a specific aroma that differ from ordinary coffee from same location or any places on earth, Once you test the original cup of Luwak coffee, you never forgot the taste and aroma, just like a typical perfume of coffee. The coffees we presented were some of the best in the comp and cupped in the mid 80’s.
    Limited Stock by booked order:
    USD 5.5 per cup on average

    Contact us to prove you for real of Luwak coffee:
    thesuavecoffee@gmail.com
    Alan Yeung


  1. 1 Less Than Perfect… » Do I need to name all my posts?

Leave a Reply

