india

14Aug06

Long years ago we made a tryst with destiny, and now the time comes when we shall redeem our pledge, not wholly or in full measure, but very substantially. At the stroke of the midnight hour, when the world sleeps, India will awake to life and freedom. A moment comes, which comes but rarely in history, when we step out from the old to the new, when an age ends, and when the soul of a nation, long supressed, finds utterance. It is fitting that at this solemn moment we take the pledge of dedication to the service of Inida and her people and to the still larger cause of humanity.

Every single time I read these few lines uttered by Nehru almost 60 years back…I get goosepimples. But then again, if you know me, I get gooseflesh pretty often. Setting all that aside I have to admit, shamefully, that everytime I think about our country, all that comes to my mind is the poverty, pollution, defecation on the streets, corruption, long queues for Krrish , greed, insecurity, unfriendliness, packed trains, reckless driving (Hyderabad specific) and the likes.

I’ve spent less than a quarter of my life in India and ironically I still call this my country and deep down I’m immensely proud of who we are. Look at it this way…imagine that Britain or France ceased to exist one fine day. Apart from fashion and a few pieces of pop culture(but then again, we’d be better off  without Harry Potter and that whole school of idiots!), the course of the world wouldn’t be affected in any major life altering way. BUT…if WE ceased to exist, expect nothing short of worldwide pandemonium! What pisses me off is that we don’t really realise how important we are!

This sudden burst of patriotism can be attributed to the latest issue of India Today I just read! A lot of amazing facts about a place that each one of us calls home…

That future is not one of ease or resting but of incessant striving so that we may fulfil the pledges we have so often taken .

 Jai Hind everybody…

26 Responses to “india”

  1. Tag you’re IT!

  2. Every single time I read these few lines uttered by Nehru almost 60 years back…I get goosepimples. But then again, if you know me, I get gooseflesh pretty often. Setting all that aside I have to admit, shamefully, that everytime I think about our country, all that comes to my mind is the poverty, pollution, defecation on the streets, corruption, long queues for Krrish , greed, insecurity, unfriendliness, packed trains, reckless driving (Hyderabad specific) and the likes.

    About goosepimples, nice to know people get moved by speeches and words like I do, goosepimples man!! God bless ’em!

    About reckless driving, dude, it’s part and parcel of India!!

    Well, I do have to agree that there are many flaws in India. One of the posts I am working on rite now is how Indians when they congregate abroad, somehow end up talking bad things about India!!

    I somehow tend to think that it’s sorta innate, but then I am consciously working on finding out the reasons why?

    Jai Hind!!

  3. I know man…it’s sad . I’m reading Shantaram now…a foreigner seems to have more insight into our lives than we do…

  4. Actually that’s wrong. In the sense, I have a pretty good idea of what is India as of now. Unfortunately, neither do I have anyidea of its supreme past or enough information of the current to predict its future. It’s saddening.

    But, then I always do think and am proud, not just coz of Independence Day, but for the very fact that I am an Indian, and damn proud of my wonderful country, with all its shortcomings.

    Hell, it wouldn’t be India, if not for its shortcomings!!

  5. Same here mate…same here.

    “Hell, it wouldn’t be India, if not for its shortcomings!! ”

    Hell yea!

  6. Hey guys,

    Having spent almost 3 years abroad, I feel really sad to see poverty, corruption, pollution and other problems everytime I am home (India). It makes me wonder how we managed to stick on to all of these for the last 50 years. Why is there such a big difference between us and the developed World?

    Most of you would share my feeling and would want to do something to improve the condition of our country. However, we dont know where to start.

    The answer is to unite all such like-minded people and work towards thinking and providing solutions together. Hence we have a simple website http://www.indiapledges.com

    Firstly, all of us need to pledge against performing all the evils that are hindrances to India’s real growth. This will put India on the right path. Just register on the website, log-in and click on the pledges that you will adhere to. On the top of the page, live statistics can be see indicating the number of people who have pledged. I hope we can see a six-digit number (out of 1 billion of our population) soon.

    And then, we have a discussion forum where we can identify solutions to the problems.

    In the long run, my dream is for all of us to actually implement the solutions. Not sure whether we can achieve it, but lets atleast start and try.

    Please pass the word around

    cheers
    Ruz

  7. Hey Ruz

    Nice site…

    Don’t you think that most of the problems of our country are caused by just a few people…mostly peope in power?

    Sometimes I do wonder if anything we do will ever make a difference.

    Great to see someone take a step in the right direction

  8. Unfortunately that’s the picture India portrays – this collage of poverty, pollution, defecation on the streets and corruption. But you and I know what the real India is! Its this ancient land of rich cuture, tradition, knowledge.. Emerging as the leading forces in the world .. With a rich pool of talent and robust economy! I remember in my formative years I just wanted out.. I knew I had to settle down abroad. But now I think I wouldn’t quite mind settling down here, in fact that would be my first choice!! i think we underestimate the patriotism too .. we are more patriotic that one would believe … am proud to be indian .. jai hind .. jai bharat!!!!

  9. man .. i think i should try politics :D!!

  10. @ sid: Dude, sorry to dissect ur comment, but have somethings I wanted straightened out

    Unfortunately that’s the picture India portrays – this collage of poverty, pollution, defecation on the streets and corruption. But you and I know what the real India is! Its this ancient land of rich cuture, tradition, knowledge…

    Well, India does NOT portray to the outside world – poverty, pollution, defecation in streets. Their mental image doesn’t reach much beyond villages with rich culture. Most of the people still think that Indians eat monkeys owing to a scene showin in Indiana Jones [forget which part as usual]!

    They however are aware of the corruption problem, but their image is NOT of politicians in the parliament but of graam panchayats!

    Some of the better industries, especially the service sector are aware of the growing India’s problems ala, the aforementioned ones. :-D!!

    Emerging as the leading forces in the world .. With a rich pool of talent and robust economy!

    Hmm about the rich pool of talent and robust economy, there is a long way to go dude. [Un]fortunately, we aren’t the brains of the world. We are more the guys who get things done, and done fast and with pretty good quality.

    I have been able to notice some things about Germans here, and earlier some Americans. They are unique in their own way of studying. The American system makes you question and actually understand yourself what you study, much like the German system.

    They take a bit longer time than us Indians to actually comprehend what’s going on, but once done, believe me they know the nuts and bolts of what they have studied. Unlike the Indians who have a penchance to mug up stuff, [accept it dudes] and get things done fast [which is an advantage as far as the software industry in concerned – the service industry rather].

    I remember in my formative years I just wanted out.. I knew I had to settle down abroad. But now I think I wouldn’t quite mind settling down here, in fact that would be my first choice!! i think we underestimate the patriotism too .. we are more patriotic that one would believe … am proud to be indian .. jai hind .. jai bharat!!!!

    Well, good for you. I had the lucky break of going abroad during my formative years and believe me, all I can say is India rules. The environment u get of comfort is NOT achieved anywhere else in the world. :-)!

    And I am also talking right now with personal experience, India is _the_ place to settle down!! ;-)!

    As far as patriotism goes, Independence Day does get a lot outta you! Looking at the other side of the picture though, if Indians are so bloody patriotic, what was up with the brain drain? Questions that need answers… ;-)!

  11. Damn, I should have just made a post outta it!! *hitting my head*

  12. @ Sid For the most, I totally agree with you dude. And I’m sure that to an extent WE do portray a negative pic of India outside …simply because it’s the truth. We are poor, we are corrupt and we do defectae on the streets…well..um atleast some of us.

    No matter what we think of our country we are the only ones who are capable of making a change!

    As far as our development goes…we have a long way to go but we sure as hell are gonna make it!

    I was abroad for 16 years of my life and if you asked me…nothing…nothing beats India!

    @ Guru You should have written the whole thing as a post man!

    The brain drain can be explained by the fact that patriotism is simply a collective emotion. When it’s upto each person…he/she is more concerned about his/her future than that of the country!

  13. Actually I have a qualm with that. Although I guess it is indeed the explanation for what’s happening!! ;-)!

    I do think NOTHING and I do mean nothing beats India. ;-)! Mera Bharat Mahaan. Btw, another thing I noticed. It’s our motherland, Bharat Mataa and all that, but still it’s Meraa Bharat Mahaan and not Meri Bharat Mahaan or the equivalent sthreeling Hindi guys!! Any explanations!!

    So until that comes, Nammude Bharatham!!

  14. hmmm … punnen dude … dont write posts wen u r high on caffine … people feel kinda patriotic wen drunk (coffee included 😉 )

  15. @ Guru Damn ive never thought about that…but then that could also be ‘cos of my supeior grasp over the Hindi language! 🙂

    @ Johnny Hehe…patriotism is good. drunk or not! 😉 Guess youre all set for the convocation huh? 😦

  16. convocation … yeah .. i just need something to get away from code for a while ( spend time to think abt anything other than code) … .. But nothing special .. it’ll be a quikie.. leave on sat night and come back on mon morn (it’ll b a big day for me @ office 🙂 ) … :-/

  17. @ Johnny Yea…big day!!! 🙂 We’re getting a good weekend off…looking forward to it. feeling very adventurous…might just go ahead and jump off a building if I can’t bungee jump!

  18. 18 bugtracker

    Grr..Always considered myself patriotic but I need your blog to remind me of our Independence day. I wonder how patriotic we(or just me) will be, if we don’t have anything/anyone around to remind us of the place where we belong.

  19. @bugtracker: Whoa dude!! Now, that’s honest!! Guys, get the soda kuppikal ready!! ;-)!

  20. @ bugtracker Da thendi…Norwayil vere Indiakar ille???

    @ Guru * Soda kuppikal in hand!*

  21. 21 bugtracker

    @ prestidigitator : Undavum, but very very few..except for a guy at work, I haven’t met anyone else. They are very few immigrants here.

    @ Guru : Dude, I spoke my mind and I think what I said was completely honest. Isn’t it better and nice to disagree rather than getting a soda kuppi ?

  22. @ps: Dude, suggestion, what people commented, can’t we like make it a bit up on the column? I mean to check if any new comments are there, I gotta scroll a crazy lot down… :-D!!

  23. um…so how do i do that? (*suddenly feeling stupid*)

  24. Go to Dashboard->Presentation->Sidebar Widgets/Options and hold and drag the comments box up2 a lookable position and click on “Save Changes”!!

  25. @ Guru Oh that one! I thought you were talking about the comment boxes…actual place where you typed the comments! my bad! 🙂

  26. Thanks man!! That really helps!! Altho it could be above your blog roll as well, as your blog roll mite soon get “large” :P!!


Leave a Reply

