my fav movie quotes

20Aug06

For the lack of anything better, here goes…

Rob Gordon: What came first, the music or the misery? People worry about kids playing with guns, or watching violent videos, that some sort of culture of violence will take them over. Nobody worries about kids listening to thousands, literally thousands of songs about heartbreak, rejection, pain, misery and loss. Did I listen to pop music because I was miserable? Or was I miserable because I listened to pop music?

High Fidelity

Andrew Largeman: You know that point in your life when you realize that the house that you grew up in isn’t really your home anymore? All of the sudden even though you have some place where you can put your stuff that idea of home is gone.
Sam: I still feel at home in my house.
Andrew Largeman: You’ll see when you move out it just sort of happens one day one day and it’s just gone. And you can never get it back. It’s like you get homesick for a place that doesn’t exist. I mean it’s like this rite of passage, you know. You won’t have this feeling again until you create a new idea of home for yourself, you know, for you kids, for the family you start, it’s like a cycle or something. I miss the idea of it. Maybe that’s all family really is. A group of people who miss the same imaginary place.

Garden StateΒ 

Red: [narrating] I have no idea to this day what those two Italian ladies were singing about. Truth is, I don’t want to know. Some things are best left unsaid. I’d like to think they were singing about something so beautiful, it can’t be expressed in words, and makes your heart ache because of it. I tell you, those voices soared higher and farther than anybody in a gray place dares to dream. It was like some beautiful bird flapped into our drab little cage and made those walls dissolve away, and for the briefest of moments, every last man in Shawshank felt free.

Red: [narrating] I have to remind myself that some birds aren’t meant to be caged. Their feathers are just too bright. And when they fly away, the part of you that knows it was a sin to lock them up DOES rejoice. Still, the place you live in is that much more drab and empty that they’re gone. I guess I just miss my friend.

Shawshank Redemption

Lester Burnham: [narrating] I had always heard your entire life flashes in front of your eyes the second before you die. First of all, that one second isn’t a second at all, it stretches on forever, like an ocean of time… For me, it was lying on my back at Boy Scout camp, watching falling stars… And yellow leaves, from the maple trees, that lined my street… Or my grandmother’s hands, and the way her skin seemed like paper… And the first time I saw my cousin Tony’s brand new Firebird… And Janie… And Janie… And… Carolyn. I guess I could be pretty pissed off about what happened to me… but it’s hard to stay mad, when there’s so much beauty in the world. Sometimes I feel like I’m seeing it all at once, and it’s too much, my heart fills up like a balloon that’s about to burst… And then I remember to relax, and stop trying to hold on to it, and then it flows through me like rain and I can’t feel anything but gratitude for every single moment of my stupid little life… You have no idea what I’m talking about, I’m sure. But don’t worry… you will someday.

American Beauty

Valerie: I shall die here. Every inch of me shall perish, every inch but one. An inch, it is small and it is fragile, and it is the only thing in the world worth having. We must never lose it or give it away; we must never let them take it from us. I hope that whoever you are, you escape this place. I hope that the world turns and that things get better. But what I hope most of all is that you understand what I mean when I tell you that even though I do not know you and even though I may never meet you, laugh with you, cry with you, or kiss you, I love you. With all my heart, I love you.

V for Vendetta

More…some other time.

Later

 

23 Responses to “my fav movie quotes”

  1. I remember a certain someone i know keep mentioning this one famous quote ” A man can never be friends with a womanhe finds attractive because the element of sex is always involved” – When Harry Met Sally.

    Funny how its stuck up in the corner of my mind!

    And i see that you have a quote from GardenState (Why am i not surprised!)

  2. Garden state and grey T-shirts that Mr. Puns for you

  3. @ Wildgrey I vaguely remember a certain someone saying that as well….;-)

    @bluesaze Punns wouldnt be punns without GS or the grey tshirts! πŸ™‚

  4. dude jus saw High Fedelity .. whats the fuss all abt! top 5s ..?

  5. @ Sid Oh…you dint find it all that great? Please told me you saw the uncut version. I saw it like a 100 times and I thought it was one of the greatest ever!

  6. Btw, my fav movie quotes from the movie – Reality Bites. It’s amazing!!

    This is my all time favorite liner EVER!!

    There’s no point to any of this. It’s all just a… a random lottery of meaningless tragedy and a series of near escapes. So I take pleasure in the details. You know… a quarter-pounder with cheese, those are good, the sky about ten minutes before it starts to rain, the moment where your laughter becomes a cackle… and I sit back and I smoke my Camel Straights and I ride my own melt.
    by Troy [The dude in the movie]

    Answering Machine: At the beep, please leave your name, number and a brief justification of the ontological necessity of modern man’s existential dilemma and we’ll get back to you.

  7. 7 Ms.Imperfect

    And now that everyone is on a fav quote spree…maybe its time for me to pitch in my favs too πŸ™‚

    I love that you get cold when it’s 71 degrees out. I love that it takes you an hour and a half to order a sandwich. I love that you get a little crinkle in your nose when your looking at me like I’m nuts. I love that after I spend the day with you, I can still smell your perfume on my clothes. And I love that you are the last person I want to talk to before I go to sleep at night. And it’s not because I’m lonely, and it’s not because it’s New Year’s Eve. I came here tonight because when you realize you want to spend the rest of your life with somebody, you want the rest of your life to start as soon as possible.
    —Harry, “When Harry Met Sally”

    She had never understood either of the men she had loved and so she had lost them both. Now, she had a fumbling knowledge that, had she ever understood Ashley, she would never have loved him; had she ever understood Rhett, she would have never lost him. She wondered forlornly if she had ever really understood anyone in the world.
    —Gone With the Wind

    Well, it was a million tiny little things that, when you added them all up, they meant we were supposed to be together…and I knew it. I knew it the very first time I touched her. It was like coming home…the only real home I’d ever known. I was just taking her hand to help her out of a car. It was like…magic.
    —Sleepless in Seattle

    *cant blame me for all the mush…you asked for it* πŸ˜›

  8. 8 sooraj

    “HA! That’s so funny i forgot 2 laugh… excluding that first Ha. ”

    -stewie

  9. 9 sooraj

    ok….i got this one too

    God said to Abraham, “you will kill your son, Issak”, and Abraham said, I can’t hear you, you’ll have to speak into the microphone.” “Oh I’m sorry, Is this better? Check, check, check… Jerry, pull the high end out, I’m still getting some hiss back here.”

  10. 10 sooraj

    thats fm family guy too

  11. 11 sooraj

    ahhh….my mistake…. thats not movie quotes i put

  12. @Guru Man! I’ve wanted to see Reality Bites for a long time…directed by Ben Stiller I think. Aww man…I really really wanna see it now! I love flicks with existential themes! Watch I Heart Huckabees if you get the chance!

    @Ms Imperfect Mushy mushy mushy. That Harry Met Sally quote is part of a great great gag in Scrubs Season 3.

    @Sooraj Why am I not surprised man? But you actually remember all those quotes…funny funny stuff! I almost fell off laughing! πŸ™‚

  13. @PS: Dude, Reality Bites is one of my ALL TIME FAV MOVIES!! :-D! Yeah, directed by Ben Stiller :-D!!

    Heart Huckabees eh. Shall check it up and download it!!

  14. @Guru Download only if your’e into twisted existential comedies. Not great but good. The name is I Heart Huckabees.

  15. Damn, forgot to do that, but then I am on extended time so to speak with the net at home. Will wait for that! Sometime later this week dude! :-)!

  16. @Ms Imperfect: You took the words right out of my mouth!

  17. 17 Ms.Imperfect

    Existential comedies!!…btw isnt that “I β™₯ Huckabees”…awesome movie…yup, twisted, i agree…amazing ,but unrealistically seeking the answers to what life is all about…watched it a million times…it did air this sunday on star movies too πŸ˜€

    If you like this movie…you might even try watching “Walking Line”…quite a good watch…

  18. 18 Ms.Imperfect

    Oh damn…what did i just do…that’ll be “Waking Life” in the previous comment…dunno how i got it mixed up with “Walk the Line”…amazing movies…both of em tho πŸ™‚

  19. @Ms Imperfect Ah we have a lot in common. Loved Waking Life too. But it was more of a documentary on Lucid Dreaming than a movie with a plot. Beautiful nonetheless! In that case you may also like A Scanner darkly by the same director using the same animation technique! I havent seen it yet though. πŸ™‚

  20. I am donwloading A Scanner Darkly!! Long time since I saw a Winona Ryder movie, and Keanu Reeves as well. Just waiting to get my hands on it :-D! Have been a WInona fan ever since I saw her in Reality Bites!! ;-)!

  21. @Guru Wow man…do review the movie. Some folks say the movie is too philosophical and a little too talky. I saw the first few minutesd on IGN and loved it!

  22. 22 JV

    I love the quotes in Garden State, American Beauty, and V for Vendetta. It reminds me of my childhood days, and my recent years.:smile:

  23. @JV Actually, apart from V from Vendetta, I could relate to the characters of the above movies a lot! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

