primer

15Sep06

This was a movie released around 2 years back and had made waves at the Sundance Film Fest not only because it was a pretty good movie but because it was made on a budget of $7000 (the average hollywood budget is $50 million).

If you think the trailer above is ambiguous, watch the movie! I couldn’t figure out what it was about until I rewatched it atleast 3 times. It’s beautifully shot andย well acted, considering the director Shane Carruth, worked a cubicle job and found time to act and direct with help from his friends. It was shot with a handy DV cam and most of the lighting was ambient. Watch it and you’ll know why it’s so amazing.

The plot revolves around time travel and the moral implications that rise out of it. Very very very twisted stuff!

http://imdb.com/title/tt0390384/

I don’t really recommend this one for the average movie goer, but if you appreciate originality, go for it. The DVD is pretty hard to come by but I fortunately came across a copy in Cochin a few months back!!

Aaron: [voiceover] Now I have repaid any debt I may have owed you. You know all that I know. My voice is the only proof that you will have of the truth of any of this. I might have written a letter with my signature, but my handwriting is not what it used to be. Maybe you’ve had the presence of mind to record this. That’s your prerogative. You will not be contacted by me again. And if you look… you will not find me.

Later

Listening to How to Save a Life by The Fray ( a very very neat track!)

9 Responses to “primer”

  1. hi dude,
    nice posts…
    do i know u?

  2. @Sahal Thanks…

    Um…nope…don’t think you know me.

  3. Hmm .. Interesting ….

    Dude .. if u havent watch Memento .. think ul like it ..

  4. @Sid Loved Memento. What an amazingly original screenplay! Great stuff!!! We my dear friend aren’t so different! ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. yea we are mate ๐Ÿ™‚ .. catching on Jack Johnson and Joshua Radin.

    Primer on download ๐Ÿ˜‰

    another recommendation! Confidence very unassuming movie but surprises ya .. its a thriller abt power and money .. on the lines of Oceans 11..

  6. Also talking abt different movies .. Run Lola Run and Amilie .. u musta watched it … out of the box eh .. thats what good cinema’s all about .. ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Interesting.. ;-)! Man such a lotta movies I have to download a lotta movies now!!

  8. hey PS, tht reminds me – try Over my head – The Fray ( same album )

  9. @Sid Have to check out the Fray out properly now.
    Have seen Run Lola Run (good stuff) but haven’t seen Amelie or Confidence. ๐Ÿ˜ฆ On my list now. Will post my rview of Scanner Darkly soon on Scribez!

    @Guru To many movies…too li’l time eh? Me have a lotta books to read too now…Harini gave me a copy of Million Little Pieces! ๐Ÿ™‚


Leave a Reply

