raindrops keep falling on my head! but why?

22Sep06

grinch.jpg

Here’s the deal. I’m happy! And I don’t have a damn reason to be happy and that’s driving me crazy!!!

Every single morning, I get up with this huge power house of energy and cheer (that may have sounded weird)Β but I simply can’t put it to any good use. Feels like all that happiness is somehow being wasted away! To top it off, I simply can’t figure out for the life of me where all this damn cheer comes from! I have a lot of reasons NOT to be happy!

  • I’m working in an industry that will slowly and surely suck the life out of me.
  • I feel like I haven’t planned my life out the way I should have.
  • I’m still a very irritable person who gets annoyed with people easily but somehow I’m a lot more subtle now.
  • For the first time in the last 22 years, I feel totally useless (perhaps even a hindrance to usefullness as such). The above revelation comes thanks to the mock project we’re doing at work.
  • I still want to direct a movie and I have no idea where to start.
  • etc… πŸ™‚

I know, most people would be happy just to be…well…happy but somehow I get the feeling that something, somewhere is terribly wrong. Or then again, maybe I’m like Dr Cox from Scrubs who’s happy only when he’s miserable. Have I been reading too much Catch 22?

Anyhoo, if there was a TV show based on my life, I’d want the theme song to be When you’re on Top by The Wallflowers.

I feel fine with the sun in my eyes,

The wind in my hair,

I’m falling out of the sky!

I’m doing better than I thought I would but nothing’s ever as good as when you’re on top!

I’m also reminded of that wise wise saying that goes. “When you think all’s right with the world and you couldn’t be happier, just close your eyes and take a deep breath for it too shall pass!”

Adios

60 Responses to “raindrops keep falling on my head! but why?”

  1. @ PS: Dude… Chill maar. Always good to be happy :-)!

  2. @ PS: Dude, btw – check this out

    Happiness is nothing more than good health and a bad memory

    !!

  3. The Grinch has an extremely wicked smile πŸ˜›
    Misleading picture!! πŸ˜€

    I’m sure we’ll find a reason for u to be happy about, its sumwhr out there, we jus need to hunt it down!! πŸ˜›

  4. @ PS: Hmmm, what happa to the grinch? ;-)! Yeah yeah!! Dude, I should have been there. Damn damn!! :-D!!

  5. @ Guru Man! I know…I guess I’m just apalled at the fact that I’m satisfied with mediocrity! You dig? I totally love that quote tohough!

    @Ms Imperfect Um…what are we talking about? πŸ™‚

  6. Punns in Luuuvvv !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    And software businness aint gonna take life out of you. Itz fun. For some itz life πŸ˜‰

  7. @johnny every body can’t be geeks like you and me. We drool and hum over technology.

    @puns life is not perfect I am sure you’ll eventually find what your really intrested in.

  8. @Johnny Dude…punns in luv? did you even think of the consequences????

    @Bluesaze you’re right man…sigh! πŸ™‚

  9. hey bro..u sound kinda like me rite now… ur entry sort of reminds of one of the crazy dreams i’ve been havin… go chk my blog n u’ll kno wat i’m talkin bout here….

  10. @juney sis, I’m always like this! πŸ™‚

  11. @bluesaze yup. agreed. btw anybody planning for FOSS.in/2006 ??

  12. Hmm .. i got no freaking idea y i’m so excited abt this … (was not even excited for my birthday. ah!! i was in office on my birthday which was on a holiday… hmmm …)

  13. @ Johnny Why am i not surprised!!!

  14. I guess the reason u’r happy is coz u knw how to be happy despite the odds that u face and i guess thts a unique gift… so take advantage of tht and njoy life and be happy coz happiness is wat every individual seeks in all his activities.. if u get that without doing anything much..i guess ur lucky huh???wat say??
    And speaking about planning ur life…dont be sad bout that..coz its not necessary tht ur plans work out and when that happens u feel awfulllll..
    Im a person who’s planned quite a lot and have had backup plans and backup for those backup plans, but today, nothing as i planned has happened…NOTHING!!!!! none of those plans worked… and im in a situation i least expected myself to be in.. I’ve had BIG plans as well as small ones, none worked out…in the end i feel miserable…i wd have been better without planning.. atleast wd hv got some peace of mind.
    Not necessary that ur plans wd hv had the same fate as mine..maybe urs wd hv wrkd out.. but i blv..if it has to happen..it bloody helll just will happen… even if u plan it or not… its just that if u can enjoy the uncertainity that comes with not planning… u can save urself the tension and worries as well as the dejection and frustration associated with planning….
    So its best to just live ur life the way it comes..day by day.. and njoy every day..Its something i learnt from experience…The Hard Way!!!!!

    “Live and let live, smile and help smile!!”

  15. @ PS: Anyone other than me, feel asleep through the previous comment? :-D!!

    Sorry rp: But, personally I thought that was way too much philosophy. ;-)!!

    I think, u meant to say – Live impromptu, be happy that you are happy rite?? ;-)!!

  16. /me never knew that happy thingy is so complicated :-/
    hmmm …

    @ punns : bad!! u know abt me tooo much …
    @guru : add me to that list πŸ™‚

  17. @rp Well, I kinda agree with you on ur rather ‘brief’ statement…nothing I’ve planned out really worked…but I aint complaining…’cos like somebody sid to me “Never regret a moment that made you smile”.

    @Guru It’s my blog! I can’t fall asleep can I?

    @Johnny Dude…trust me, I doubt anybody other than Swen or me really knows you! πŸ˜‰

  18. @Guru:guess ur not used to reading bullshit huh???
    heheh….
    Well, if u really start using ur brains n analysing things happening in ur life…u’ll end up in the same state..so think twice b4 u do so..
    and this aint philosophy…its jus a few truths of life…
    @PS: sorry to make tht soooo loooong…guess words jus pour out whn i start writng…cnt help it..
    πŸ™‚

  19. @ rp: Dude, I was just pulling ur leg :-P!! Chill. ;-)!! And nopes, never really think too much about ANYTHING, so dontcha worry. I think that mite even be the reason as to why my comment outfluxed in the first place :-P!!

  20. So much for raindrops and feeling happy and not knowing the reason for it… πŸ˜›

    “Never regret a moment that made you smile” — loved the quote…rings true for so many things in my life!! πŸ™‚

  21. @rp Guru was just pulling ur leg man…

    I agree with what you said…I do believe that you oughta live in the moment anyway!

    @guru dude…i have nothing to say to u…:-)

    @ms imperfect im still bloody happy!!!and i have no idea why!!!

  22. @guru: I am chill.. i ws really asking u…u never read bullshit stuff like tht…???
    i usd to feel all this is just crap and the work of ppl who have nothing else to do in life..thts a few years ago.. but i dunnoo wat happnd or hw it happnd…
    i started thinking.now thts not a good thing for a person like me to do..i guess life makes u think huh?
    i guess thts wat changed me from total freak and happy go lucky person who din care the heck about anything or anyone, to a kinda serious person….
    hope u dont start thinking..b th way u r…u’d be happier..

  23. punns in luv!!! punns in luv!!! ( info from swen (sort of ))

  24. @Johnny
    wat info? i didnt say anything .. or did i?
    I’m confused ; i don’t like being confused πŸ™‚

  25. /me just kidding … /me having gud fun with this thingy πŸ˜€

  26. PS in luuuuuvvvv??!! πŸ˜›
    I want some info too… πŸ™‚

    @rp : Sometimes life throws some situations @ you, which make you realise that there is a lot more out there than just freaking out n having fun…maybe it makes you think about why things are the way they are!!
    But that doesnt mean that it should leave you cynical…u win some,u lose some, u never give up on life though!!
    Its is all about a healthy balance, between being serious in issues which require it and being happy for the way life has and is treating you in general!!

    *phew* I knew i should have been a shrink, its all slowly falling into place! πŸ˜€

  27. Maybe i should charge for Punns Info .
    There seems to be somuch demand for it ..

  28. @rp hey…you know what? There aint no point in taking everything too seriously…it’s not very wise.

    Being happy go lucky is not a bad thing man…find comedy in every tragedy! πŸ™‚

    You shud read this!
    https://ontheverge.wordpress.com/2006/07/01/everybody-is-free-to-wear-sunscreen/

    @everybody else: Punns aint in love…it’s just not possible! πŸ™‚

    Or is it? πŸ˜‰

  29. @Punns
    “There aint no point in taking everything too seriously…it’s not very wise.” –
    that definitly doesnt sound like u ..

  30. @rp : hmm .. i wonder how ur neurons r wired..

    @punns : so whoz the girl movie geek u r going out with ???? πŸ˜€

  31. This place is gettin really really interesting!! πŸ˜€

    I’m loving it…

    More onfo Jacob?!! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰

  32. @all What the hell? You know if there was any such girl on the planet, I would instantly marry her and raise a family of little movie geeks!! :-))

  33. Scary , ….

  34. Now what r u trying to say here PS… That there are no ‘girl movie geeks’? πŸ˜›

    You’ll be in trouble if you say that my friend!! πŸ˜› πŸ˜€

    Looks like u r ‘opening up’ already? πŸ˜›

  35. @Ms Imperfect Wait! There are girl movie geeks!!!awesome! Now …i trust you shall introduce me to a few! πŸ™‚

  36. @daedalus : imagine 5 little movie geek punns jr, running around and chanting ‘Garden state’ and worshiping ‘zach’ …

    /me just had a blackout now…

  37. @rp : hmm .. after 20 mins on phone with punns , i cudnt get any info form punns … so i’m coming down to hyd just for this … .. Porbably drug him into confession….

    oops …

  38. rp != msimperfect.

    /me was confused all along … πŸ˜€ sorry for the mixup….

  39. @ Johnny
    Drug him? Dude , threaten to break a Garden State CD and u will have him rambling his entire life story.

  40. @Johnny Man! Youre really happy today arent ya??? THERE IS NO GIRL!!! OR GUY!!

  41. @Johnny
    Wats with the ‘/’? u r spending too much time on Linux

  42. @ Johhny STOP SPAMMING ME!!!

  43. @daedalus : yeah “/me” is a IRC thingy… | “too much time’ = 15 hrs a day πŸ˜€ | i dont think so breaking one Gardenstate cd wud do .. Only God knows how many copies he has around … ..

    @Punns : Who said anything abt a GUY!!!! yuckieee!!! .k dude … i’ll do a search on http://www.google.com/romance πŸ˜‰

  44. @daedalus : see … blogs r more fun than phone and P2P comm… rite ?????

  45. @punns : yeah happy and also i cudnt login to my novell’s VPN :-/

  46. @ all: Whoa.. I am late into this, was too busy tucking into some Thai food, after a LOONG time. :-D!!

    @ PS: Dude… Way to go… And yeah tons o girl movie geeks, got committed to one :-P!

    @ mybetterhalf: Yeah u are also the coolest *hugs*!!

    @ betterhalf + remaining: What say we gang up on PS now?? Obviously, he’s changing… I mean, he wants to stick to Hyderabad… He is using quotes that he has never used before… Hmmmm [making the sound and scratching my chin twas twitching]… Interesting Interesting… Btw, JJ – seriously drug PS into confessing his life… For the love o God, somebody get a beer with him!! For all you know at the end of it, PS mite be rambling away to glory.. πŸ˜€ [Wait that mite be my case] but hey worth a shot :-P!!

  47. wow… u r the first guy I have come across who is unhappy to be happy… I dont understand whats the problem… but I pray that life makes you miserable enough to cheer you up

  48. this thread is distracting me from work πŸ™‚

    /me looking for a girl computer geek.

  49. @ Guru Dude…there is no girl and I’m not changing! Beer? Try 4 cups of coffee and I’ll start talking!

    But I do wish I could find this movie geek girl…and then maybe we could live happily ever after! πŸ™‚

    @Bul Thsts the best thing anybody’s ever said to me in a long time!

    Wait…the 2nd best thing! A couple of weeks back, Ms Imperfect said that I DON’T look lost!

    @Johnny I understand this whole new project thing your’e into has made you a happy guy! But don’t take it out on me okiiii? πŸ™‚

  50. @ PS: Muahahaha!! *evil laughter filling space until I get bored of it*

  51. @MsImperfect:u said “being serious in issues which require it” the problem starts there..or atleast it did with me..
    u knw when u take some things seriously, u get confused as to wat to take seriously and wat not..thn just to b on the safer side,u take everything seriously..and end up as a serious person..its a very slow process n u dont realize it..its better not to take anything seriously…

  52. @PS: cool article man…the thing i liked the best was..
    “Do one thing every day that scares you.”
    Thts s’thing nice.hehe
    N lemme tell ya forget hurting..its always gud to be happy go lucky..as long as u stay tht way..life’s fun and i used to njoy it tht way…thts the best way to live life King Size..
    I guess some things happen in life that change u altogether.
    Trust me it sucks to be serious..i wanna b the same freak…

  53. @JJ: trust me dude..i hav no idea how my neurons are wired.all i knw is tht its entangled somewhere.hehe..gotta get tht straightened up..

    @PS:boy i seriously feel theres some1 ur eyeing..else u wdnt b so defensive..cut the crap n tell us who it is…

  54. @rp First off…I’m eyeing nobody…maybe just Natalie Portman.

    I have bad days too…Im not happy ALL the time or anything…but I guess I’ve learnt to snap out my woes soon.

    Chill man…relax…life lies ahead! πŸ™‚

  55. @rp : β€œDo one thing every day that scares you.” : hmm .. i shud probably try talking to ppl.

    @punns : yeah!! cut the crap and tell us who it is … πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€

  56. @Johnny Don’t you EVER get tired??? Where the hell did you find so much energy????

  57. @punns : “the truth is our there” …

    “itz the question that drives us neo” -trinity

    well sometimes @ work wen ppl say that something is impossible … i kinda enjoy proving them that they are wrong πŸ˜€ … y did i say that … ah .. rite .. so thatz where i get the ‘drive’ from .. i just need to do it … just like that.. .. .
    hmm .. i guess i’m infected by rp … aahHHHHHH!!!!!

  58. oops .. i guess i’mm little high now …. πŸ˜€ too much coffee … probably lack of sleep πŸ™‚

  59. @Johnny Youre definetly high….*shakes head*

  60. @punns : yeah !! very rarely .. very rarely!!


Leave a Reply

