The Long Reverie of PS

17Dec06

csriram.jpg

Alright, I read a lot. But, I’m not one of those guys who can read just about anything…somehow I have this inherent need to connect with the protagonist; to be able to relate to him or her (mostly just him). Few books have really delivered on that level and they include Catcher in the Rye, The Beach, The Rule of Four,  a few pieces by Ethan Canin and in the recent past, The Long Reverie of Partha Sarma. Now, this was a book I picked up just because of the blurb on the back and after two days I was head over heels in love with it. It keeps getting more profound with every successive reading and that’s something I really look forward to in a book.

So around six months back I wrote about it here and imagine my surprise when none other than the author C Sriram comments on the post. Better still was the chance to meet up with him last evening at the Taj Krishna for a book reading. Busy that he was, he was kind enough to spend time answering some of the incredibly stupid questions that I had and even doled out tips on reading and writing. I even had the chance to get introduced to some of his childhood buddies, one of whom sent me some of the snaps from last evening.

Considering the crazy week that I’ve been having, this was just what the doctor ordered! 🙂

4 Responses to “The Long Reverie of PS”

  1. Do I need 2 say dat I’m JEALOUS??? I wish I was der….(Never been to a book reading event)….. Lucky u!!!!

  2. 2 soorajrox

    whoa w….my god, man……not that i am a fan of the author or anything…..but i can sense the excitement in the post…I’m jealous too….I want that feeling

  3. @sooraj
    Your comment reminds me of “Harold n Kumar”. I want that feeling …

  4. 4 soorajrox

    😀 yeah guess i got it from there….it was in the subconscience…:|


Leave a Reply

