Smile! You’re at Mr. Smiley’s.

25Mar07

Remember Lester Burnham? Remember how he freed himself from the shackles of corporate and marital slavery? (Yes I said marital slavery) Remember how he lived? Remember how he died?

Sometimes I think I want to be more like that. I want to be the kind of guy who can afford to quit his job and just start living; But then there’s a reason why Lester Burnham was a character in a film. Life is rarely like it is on celluloid.

I’ve always prided myself for not being politically affiliated to any group or idea. I liked being free from that sort of thing but lately I’ve been told that I may have anarchist tendencies. If you think about it, it makes sense. I’ve always liked books that depicted dystopian societies ruled by authoritarian governments (1984, Brave New World). I sort of believe in moral absolutism and vigilantism (Batman) to an extent. To top it off, I detest Capitalism in all it’s forms and I hate the idea of being enslaved to corporate culture. So why is it that an anti establishment guy like me works at an MNC? I like the damn money! If only money wasn’t as important as it seemingly is, we could all just do what we wanted to. Yes, youthful delusions.

I had visited Delhi (my brother’s abode) over the last week and I have to admit that it’s an amazing place. It’s difficult NOT to fall in love with a place that is such a perfect combination of tradition and modernity. But what’s sure to keep mouths open is the brilliant Metro system. You actually wonder why other states don’t come up with something as sophisticated and aesthetic as the Delhi Metro.

18-03-07_1112.jpg

I purchased the graphic novel version of The Fountain. It did cost me an arm and a leg (I’ve been meaning to use that phrase for a while now) but the art work was just too awesome to resist. It also gives insight into what Aronofsky really wanted the film to be like too.

Meanwhile Hollywood seems to be conspiring to destroy every childhood memory of mine (and others who grew up in the late 80s, 90s) by coming up with new and crappy versions of such classics as Transformers and Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles. Mind you, I’m still going to watch them!

12.24 am. I should be in bed.

Listening to It Ain’t Me Babe by Bob Dylan

12 Responses to “Smile! You’re at Mr. Smiley’s.”

  1. So when u shifting to delhi ?

  2. oh ,and the reviews of TMNT and transformers are bad? hmm ..

  3. 3 soorajrox

    how can the reviews of them be bad????did they release yet?

  4. @daedalus I’ll move as soon I get married man…in a couple of months probably. 😐

    @daedalus and sooraj TMNT opened to poor reviews but a huge audience. I’m very skeptical about Transformers. Watched the trailer again and I think I liked Optimus Prime in color! πŸ™‚

  5. @all.
    Woow…. am I missing something?
    What’s with this shifting and marriage??????

  6. @Bipin Dude…you’re the second guy to say this. It was a joke…I’m NOT getting married!!

  7. 7 noconvolutions

    absolutism…vigilantism [in QUOTES]…anti-terrorist in the making or already a clandestine terrorist?

  8. @jackass If I told you the truth, I’d have to kill you!

  9. 9 Ravenent

    I’m all puffed up with a (foolish) sense of pride ‘cos that’s my city you’re talking about there. But all’s not hunky dory… The main problem with Delhi is that a sense of belonging is at a premium there. No one is willing to admit and (s)he is from Delhi. You ask most Delhi-ites and you’re bound to hear phrases like “I just work here” or “I’m actually from such-and-such place” etc. Thus civic sense and a sense of pride in the city is sorely missing, or else it would be an even better place. There’s also a certain misplaced sense of arrogance about many denizens of the city, as is evident by their stock response to any cop who dares pull them up – to wit – “Tu jaanta nahin main kaun hoon?” (“Don’t you know who the f**k I am?”) But I guess these and other problems are not unique to Delhi so all things considered, it’s not such a bad place after all… and I love it!

  10. 10 cendrelin

    hmmmm…anarchist ey?? maybe u shud read my latest post…there mite be a faint link….

    n talkin bout ninja turtles…i’m kinda proud to announce that when i was in junior skool i could draw them better than all the guys in my class!!!!yep…

    ohh..n btw..can i be ur bridesmaid?? i mean doesnt the guy hav nything of that sort????or is it just the bride?? hmmm…but still…can i??

  11. @Ravenent Sense of belonging? Maybe I met the wrong people…’cos the ones I talked to LOVED the city. But if you meet a Malayalee and he/she happens to have spent a couple of years abroad, guarant-f***ing-teed, he/she won’t mention the fact that (s)he’s from Kerala! πŸ™‚

    @Cendrelin You could draw the turtles? Ha! I could draw them, way better than you could…and have you even seen my early sketches of Batman? Huh? πŸ˜›

    And no…you CAN’T be my bridesmaid! 😐

  12. batman?? tht funny guy in teh yellow underwear?? okie..now upgraded to black…icky…..


Leave a Reply

