Short Films At Cannes

17May07

The Cannes Film Festival opened with a screening of Wong Kar Wai’s My Blueberry Nights. However what interests me more are the short films screened there. Having seen a few shorts that were screened at Sundance (on my computer; I didn’t go to Sundance), I’m blown away by the potential of this medium.

This year a short film from India will be screened at the Cannes.

Luke Mendez, a Mumbai based film maker will be screening his 18 minute short film, Dog Eat Dog. It portrays the grim realities behind the so called American Dream. Read about it here.

Sadly, short films are overlooked in India with many oblivious to the fact that there exist some amazing short films that ignore the traditional 3 act structure out there. If you intend to watch them, I suggest you start with the immensely entertaining BMW Series Short Films which were helmed by auteurs like Guy Ritchie, Ang Lee, WKW etc… starring Clive Owen.

Sample this! 

[Cannes Logo sourced from Wikipedia] 

3 Responses to “Short Films At Cannes”

  1. I’m blown away by the potential of this medium.

    I second that.

    Not just films. I have personally been immensely influenced by short stories that I read in my childhood days; especially in hindi (termed as laghu katha).
    The most striking feature, IMHO, of these short stories/movies/… is their abstract climax (well, most of the times), which have often left me pondering over the issue for a considerable amount of time. Some of them still haunt me.
    I posted one of them just now.
    http://projectbee.blogspot.com/2007/05/laghu-katha-i.html

  2. I concur and agree Bips…amazing post btw!

  3. Shukriya bhau 😉


Leave a Reply

