No Rain by Blind Lemon

25May07

Just saw the video this morning. I remember watching it as a kid. Amazing track. Amazing video. Sigh…music like this is so hard to come by these days. Sadly, the band never had another memorable track.

 Video at: http://youtube.com/watch?v=qmVn6b7DdpA

All I can say is that my life is pretty plain
I like watchin’ the puddles gather rain
And all I can do is just pour some tea for two
and speak my point of view
But it’s not sane, It’s not sane

I just want some one to say to me
I’ll always be there when you wake
Ya know I’d like to keep my cheeks dry today
So stay with me and I’ll have it made

And I don’t understand why I sleep all day
And I start to complain that there’s no rain
And all I can do is read a book to stay awake
And it rips my life away, but it’s a great escape
escape…escape…escape…
All I can say is that my life is pretty plain
ya don’t like my point of view
ya think I’m insane
Its not sane…it’s not sane.

6 Responses to “No Rain by Blind Lemon”

  1. 1 Smaran

    I love that song. I still have it in my music library. The rest of Blind Melon’s debut is pretty good too, but harsher and more rock-ish.

  2. 2 Anonymous

    hey i may be just too inquisitive but are there any strings attached to these lines:
    “I just want some one to say to me
    I’ll always be there when you wake” ?
    i’ve my maid back in orissa.she can give u good kickass morning blah!

  3. 3 Anonymous

    okiee that “anonymous” above is “me”

  4. If I am right at guessing this “me” then you need not worry.
    She could not succeed in changing “me”‘s wake-up-late-As-In-LATE attitude; what harm could she cause you? 😉

    And if I am wrong then ignore the thing above and consider this.
    Just imagine waking up every damn morning (Okay, afternoon for some) and watching somebody leaning over you, looking at your face, grinning ear to ear… everyday…
    Holy Sh**!
    It’s a little scary man. At least for me (Considering the way I sleep) 😐

  5. @Smaran Dude…listen to their track…Change. Aweseome lines.

    @Anonymous/Jackass: It’s kinda easy to figure out who you are even if you don’t really identify yourself! 🙂 And no, you’re simply reading too much into things…

    @Bips Tell me about…it’s psychotic to have someone staring at you when you wake up. Unless it’s Natalie Portman of course!

  6. 6 Dawkin's Rottweiler

    Blind Melon had a few other memorable tracks, although this is probably their most accessible & definitely the most mainstream…


Leave a Reply

