G’day Mate? Not So Much.

04Jun07

As it is, I’m not too big on flying…so a 13 hour flight (with a stop at Bangkok) can get a bit unnerving. But what if matters take a turn for the worse?

First, I had difficulty clearing my bags from Bangalore (too heavy they said) and then it turns out that one of my bags missed the flight from Bangkok to Melbourne. Paperwork took over an hour and a half and I hopped on a cab (driven by a…*gasp*…woman) to be dropped at the address I was given, only to find it bolted from the outside. I lingered around the place for over 15 minutes and it dawned on me that I would have to spend my first ‘Melbourne Night’ out in the cold. Luckily, I’d met this guy on the plane and he was nice enough to let me crash at his place. Man…now that is pure coincidence!

So, I skipped work today and decided to have a look around South Yarra. The place is amazingly beautiful, the weather is chilly and the people are sweet s saccharine…to the point of inducing diabetes.

The first thing you notice once you land are the people (well…really); the kindly smiles and the overall politeness (which I suspect is a conscious effort to not come across as racist).

That…that makes almost all the trouble seem worthwhile.

17 Responses to “G’day Mate? Not So Much.”

  1. 1 Johnny

    heehe .. nice start ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Hehe dude!! At least you got the first day off!! Chillax mate, you are gonna enjoy it =P!

    And all the best – ya know Just in case ;-)!

  3. Aha .. punns in the big city. nice start indeed.

    @Guru : Chillax ?? how come i never tought of that … ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. 4 ne0

    Hey, have a great time, dude!!!

  5. 5 soorajrox

    have fun homie.

  6. 6 Joe Kulangara

    Bro, here’s “cheers” to a new and exciting chapter in our life. if we can time it right, you and i can get simultaneously drunk, chat and celebrate. tell me when u are free.

  7. hey nice start man…. so when you coming back ๐Ÿ˜‰ lol

  8. Gone? Already?? Some schedule!! Was hoping to call u… so much for that now.

  9. 9 Ravenent

    Did you hear about the British airman who crash-landed in the Aussie outback and got pummelled by ‘roos? When he woke up all groggy and smashed-up in the hospital, he turned to the doctor and croaked, “Doc, tell me frankly, did I come here to die?”

    Pat came the reply, “Naah matey, you came here yesterday!”

    [For all you no-hopers and bozos, an Aussie would pronounce that last word as ‘yester-die’. Now you wanna read the joke again, right?]

  10. You know what? It does feel a lot like a village idiot in the big city actually. For the first time, people walk faster than me…escalators are faster…elevators are so fast your ears pop on the way down.

    Hope I get used to this…

  11. 11 Sm

    hey, if i have a blog and registers a new blog, how do i get the old posts on to the new one?

  12. @Sm You could import your posts. There’s an option for that in WordPress. Not sure about the new Blogger though.

  13. I migrated from blogger to wordpress ..

  14. 14 soorajrox

    @johnny…I thought you were already in wordpress

  15. 15 noconvolutions

    hey jackass dont come back with a pseudo-Australian accent.
    if u do then just feel free not to recognize me alright?

  16. I doubt I’ll recognize you even if I don’t have an accent! Jackass. ๐Ÿ˜

  17. 17 noconvolutions

    now u better recognize me !


Leave a Reply

