Dinner And Breakfast At Tiffany’s

06Jun07

dsc00008.jpg 431px-breakfastattiffanys.jpg

What do you do when you’re in a foreign country and it’s too cold to go out sightseeing or too new to hang out with friends? You do what everyone else would do. Huddle up under a blanket, have milk and a peanut butter sandwich and watch the amazing Audrey Hepburn in Breakfast At Tiffany’s.

I’ve always been fascinated by Audrey Hepburn; ever since I saw My Fair Lady on Turner Classic Movies as a kid. She was something of a Natalie Portman for the 50s and 60s. Her charm lay in her exuberance, the way she carried herself and those eyes…*sigh*…those eyes. There was a certain sense of intelligence and playfulness in them. Very few Hollywood starlets have had that kind of effect on me; Cybill Shepherd, Debra Winger, Winona Ryder and Natalie Portman to name a few. (Damn…I can’t think of one Indian woman!)

Sure, watching an old chick flick while chomping on a sandwich and gulping down milk can be pretty disturbing but there’s a weird sort of gratification you get from doing something like that.

Next in line: Roman Holiday and My Fair lady.

I need to go out and meet people.

PS: Thank ‘You’ for the film! 🙂

12 Responses to “Dinner And Breakfast At Tiffany’s”

  1. 1 Joe Kulangara

    Bro. Thanks for reminding me of the incredible Cybill Shepherd. She smoked a hole in my brain when I watched “Taxi Driver”. Winona Ryder….hmmm….interesting- you are dreaming of the same girls that i dream off bro. Thats getting too close for comfort. so back off.

    breakfast at tiffany’s. must watch it again. got a DVD here with Breakfast At Tiffany’s and Roman Holiday.

  2. Ah…she looked mind blowing in taxi driver. You seen the old TV series with her and Bruce Willis? Moonlighting? They play it here on aussie TV late nights. Guess who tunes in! 🙂

    Watch breakfast at Tiffanys onlly for Hepburn man! If that film were ever remade…only Portman could play that role!!

  3. Dude, something is wrong with the blog =D!

    Anyhoo, Audrey hepburn – good – but why do you compare everyone with NP as a yardstick…

    It’s like winona ryder – NP of 90s
    Audrey Hepburn – NP of 50/60s

    I adore NP – but comon, let everyone be themselves. They are all awesome in their own sense right…

    Muahaha heading back July 14… Hell yeah ;-)!

  4. @Guru What;s wrong with the blog?

    Yea…I know I keep measuring everyone with NP…but fact is if you look at my taste in women, you’ll find that all of them aren’t really that different from each other. All of them have intelligence, quirkiness and they’re all also petite. 😐 So I guess NP is sort of a benchmark I’ve grown to use.

    July 14 eh? Somebody must be happy huh? 🙂

  5. I cannot access the first pic and also there’s this HTML tag just before the first pic. Check it out in Source Editor view..

    Yeah I understand, but then amongst that similarity is a totally different person. Don’t think that’s wrong to compare one person with another one? Comic book characters are different.

    Yeah somebody is really happy =)!

  6. Hellloooooo
    Where is work?
    It’s an official tour, I guess!!!

  7. @Bipin Um…I prefer NOT to talk abt work. Nonetheless…its goin good! 🙂

  8. 8 Dawkin's Rottweiler

    Dude… Agree completely with the last three names – Winger, Ryder & Portman… Also agree with “intelligence, quirkiness and they’re all also petite”… You forgot sophistication though, which is one of their primary common characteristics…

    I can understand your adoring Audrey Hepburn (although I’d have gone with Grace Kelly) but Cybill Shepherd!!! C’mon… She’s beautiful, no doubt… But she’s clumsy without being (how I hate this word)adorable or quirky… & petite??? c’mon…

    @Guru
    Dude… I’ve been worshipping Winona Ryder since I was 10 & I don’t feel offended… He’s just grouping them together into the top bracket while ensuring that we know that he still considers NP to be at the top of the list… (Also a little reaffirmation to oneself in times of doubt, eh Pres??? ;))

  9. @Dawkin’s Rottweiler hehe…I knew you’d agree! But Cybill Shepherd…cmon man…cant a guy have a guilty pleasure? I haven’t seen her in anything other than Taxi Driver and Moonlighting but from what I’ve seen….hoo boy!!!

    Um…as for your appreciation for my classification process…I thank thee!! 🙂

  10. 10 jes

    milk in wine glass? dude…?

  11. @jes I take it that you havent seen Breakfast at Tiffanys then…Audrey drinks milk in a wine glass to 😛

  12. 12 Pink Imp

    Dude! That’s exactly what I’m going to do now! Drink milk in them wine glasses! mmm!


Leave a Reply

