17Jun07

With or without religion, you would have good people doing good things and evil people doing evil things. But for good people to do evil things, that takes religion.
– Steven Weinberg

What a great quote to start the day! 😐

8 Responses to “–”

  1. I disagree Big Boy.
    It doesn’t take “religion” to do evil things, it’s misinterpretation of things.
    Don’t mistake me for a religious guy; I have lived the life of an atheist and have experienced more internal disturbance.
    Again, the disclaimer, I am not religious; Spiritual, probably. πŸ™‚

  2. Does it mean by the same standards, that for evil people to do good things, it takes religion? Who’s Steven Weinberg?? Never heard of him!

  3. 3 noconvolutions

    “religion” if perceived within dimensions is a genius in itself else it becomes a social disease.

  4. @Bips Alright, I really don’t want to start a debate but I shall definitely mail you on the same as soon as I get some time on my hands.

    @indish Trust you to always check if the corollary is true.:-|

    Anyway, Weinberg was a theoretical physicist who won the Nobel for coming up with something known as the Electroweak forces. He was a devout atheist and also the scientific advisor for the US congress at one time. The above quote was made by him during a speech in 1999. (phew)

    @By no means is relegion deemed ‘genius’ in any dimension. It is just a means to make man feel more in control and less lonely.

    *I’ve said too much*

  5. …I really don’t want to start a debate…
    That’s exactly the reason I didn’t post my views in detail.
    I mean, being a former atheist, I know that these discussions don’t really have an end.
    So WTH! πŸ™‚
    Would love too see your mail though.

  6. 6 Ravenent

    He was a devout atheist…

    Considering the fact that devout primarily means “devoted to religion or to the fulfillment of religious obligations”, and only in a secondary sense came to mean “sincere” in general, I’d say that was something of an oxymoron, eh what? πŸ˜‰

  7. @Ravenent Well…Dawkins considers himself to have a ‘religious zeal’ for atheism. So yes I think it is an oxymoron of sorts. πŸ™‚

  8. Thanks for the info dude. I chkd him out on Wiki.


Leave a Reply

