Where The Streets Have Too Many Names

24Jun07

I recently found out that there’s a cinema in Melbourne (Cinema Nova) that plays offbeat films; so I decided to catch the french flick Paris, je t’aime which I’d been dying to see ever since I heard about it. Also, the lovely Ms Portman has a part in it.

Now, friends and family will vouch the fact that I’m terrible at directions. As if that wasn’t bad enough, I find it extremely challenging to read a map. I printed a map off the net and set out (on foot) to find 380, Lygon St. I walked for over an hour to find the place only to realise I’d walked in exactly the opposite direction.

Dejected but still determined, I walked all the way back to find that they needed an ID proof of my age! They actually didn’t believe I was over 18. I tried arguing saying that in spite of my boyish looks (and charms) I was almost 23. No luck. They still wanted to see my passport which I had conveniently left back at the hotel.

I know I was supposed to be upset, but somehow the fact that people actually thought I was barely 18 made me smile. I was getting tired of being told that I was too stiff and serious all the time. Take that!

I rewarded myself with a Thundercats T Shirt. It’s amazing how much a cartoon from my childhood still manages to excite me every time I see the insignia.

Nostalgia can work wonders.

6 Responses to “Where The Streets Have Too Many Names”

  1. They actually didn’t believe I was over 18.
    Anybody surprised??? 😉

    It’s amazing how much a cartoon from my childhood still manages to excite me every time I see the insignia.
    It’s okay baby.
    It’ll all be over once you cross 19.
    Have patienc… errr Faith. 🙂

  2. Did you approach the cinema hall AFTER you bought the T-Shirt?? 😀

    But then again your just a baby (ready pussy) anyways. So its all cool. 😉

  3. 3 noconvolutions

    awwwwww baby poor u!!!!!!!!

  4. @noconvolutions Um…let’s not forget how small *you* are okkkki?

  5. 5 Joe Kulangara

    WOAH! you saw Paris Je T’aime? where’s the review bro.

    cool T-shirt by the way. i have some old VHS tapes (all fungus racked now) of Thundercat cartoons. must clean it up and try to see if they work.

  6. @Joe Paris Je Taime; i need to find some time to review it. But trust me when I say, it’s brilliant esp the final piece by Alexander Payne. Amazingly poignant and deeply moving.


Leave a Reply

