Paris je t’aime

07Jul07

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0401711/

This isn’t just a film for short film lovers; it’s an amazingly visceral meditation on the various forms of love in and for one of the most beautiful cities in the world. Paris. The two hour feature consists of 18 short films based on the 20 Arrondissements (‘municipal boroughs’) in Paris.

When 18 of today’s best film makers come together, you are bound to expect some great cinema. For most part, they don’t disappoint but I didn’t care for the one by Wes Craven (PΓ¨re-Lachaise) so much. My favorite short was the last piece by Alexander Payne (14e arrondissement) which portrays a middle aged woman in Paris; trying to fulfil her life long dream of visiting the city. She narrates her experience in thickly accented French. Deeply moving as only Payne can write. The entire atmosphere feels a lot like it did in Sideways.

There are a few flashes of brilliance (the ones by Cuaron and the Coen Brothers) but it did feel a little uneven at times. Not that surprising as it comes from 18 different film makers. At the end, it’s a film that will leave you pondering on relationships and the places you fall in love with. It reminded me of Manhattan, Woody Allen’s love letter to the city and one of my favorite films.

[And yes, Natalie Portman stars in Faubourg Saint-Denis, the short directed by Tom Tykwer. I’m not going to praise her performance for the fear of becoming redundant and creepy (in a ‘creepy stalker’ kind of way). ]

8.5/10

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paris_je_taime

(PS: This film also made me long a bit for home)

13 Responses to “Paris je t’aime”

  1. 1 Joe Kulangara

    Man, I so badly want to see this. I can’t find it anywhere bro.

  2. Psst…here’s a secret. You can find some of the shorts on You Tube!

  3. 3 Joe Kulangara

    thnx for the heads up. but then bro, i wanna see it in its true colors man. preferable in DVD or HD.

  4. 4 ruhi

    Wow..sounds interesting. Need to order it. I have heard you raving about Manhattan so many times too. Unfortunately, when I ordered it, the CD was broken 😦 Need to re-order it.

  5. @Ruhi Manhattan…is brilllliant! I always wanted to be like Woody Allen when I turn 50. But that was before I learnt of his slight perversions (as in marrying his step daughter) :-).

  6. I am not really a fan of the “new 7 wonders” poll thing. Today I came across this slashdot post titled, “Did we really need seven new wonders”, and felt the obligation to go through it… and if you are a regular slashdot visitor, you know that the comments are more interesting than the news. πŸ™‚
    I went through some of them and then found this one by a user named Tablizer.

    One of his suggestions for the new list is N. Portman(???) πŸ™‚
    I felt like writing a post dedicated to Punns, but then found that even this post has a mention to the lady.

    BTW, I am interested to know, is (was) there a similar “atmosphere” in other countries with respect to the poll?

  7. 7 Ravenent

    @PS: Man, tell me the truth – you do go to the friendly neighbourhood DVD pirate and specially ask him to ferret out (obscure) Natalie Portman movies, right?

    @Bips: Somehow I don’t think Natalie would be flattered to find herself in such ‘august’ company as SCO and Goatse(.cx) (ahem, is this work safe I wonder? πŸ™‚ )

  8. @Ravenent:
    Agreed.
    But would Pres* vote for her if such a poll materializes? πŸ˜‰

  9. 9 Ravenent

    @Bips: Meh… I think he’ll vote for her no matter what! πŸ˜‰

  10. @Bipin and Ravenent: Guys you make me out to look like this shallow, creepy loser who is dangerously obsessed with Ms Portman.

    Spot on πŸ™‚

  11. 11 Ravenent

    You know what? I think Ms. Hershlag would be happiest with a certain Mr. Herschel Schmoekel Pinkus Yerucham Krustofski… πŸ˜‰

    @PS: Spell r.e.s.t.r.a.i.n.i.n.g o.r.d.e.r! πŸ™‚

  12. 12 R-C

    “je β€˜taime” is incorrect placing of the apostrophe. I’m surprised no one corrected it. Its “je t’aime”.

  13. @R-C Fixed! πŸ™‚

    Apparently, not everyones as good as you in french!


Leave a Reply

