Run Lola Run

21Jul07

http://imdb.com/title/tt0130827/Β 

Mankind, probably the most mysterious species on our planet. A mystery of open questions. Who are we? Where do we come from? Where are we going? How do we know what we believe to know? Why do we believe anything at all? Innumerable questions looking for an answer, an answer which will raise the next question and the following answer will raise a following question and so on and so forth. But in the end, isn’t it always the same question and always the same answer?Β 

If there’s one film that truly describes my personal philosophy, it’s this one. Tom Tykwer‘s brilliant tribute to the role chance and timing play in our lives is a film for the times.

Lola (Franka Potente) gets a phone call from her frantic boyfriend. He just lost the 100,000 marks he owed a mob boss and he goes on to tell her that in 20 minutes, he will rob a supermarket. She has 20 minutes to stop him from doing anything stupid.

Tom Tykwer shows us 3 realities; 3 ways the pivotal 20 minutes could have transpired.Β  That’s what makes this an incredible experience. Technically, the film is outstanding. I actually kept going back a couple of times to marvel at the meticulous direction.

Also, if you do plan to watch it, I suggest you watch the German version with English subtitles and not the dubbed version.

12 Responses to “Run Lola Run”

  1. At last a movie I have watched πŸ˜‰ .. I watched it in german 2-3 years back

  2. Phew…for a sec i thought you were writing on Lola Kutty πŸ™‚

  3. 3 ruhi

    Brilliant movie!!! πŸ™‚ I use this quote all the time in my real life : Run Lola Run (when I need to run away!). I saw it in German with the subtitles.

  4. @Pres*:
    People like you and Jeeta really really need a therapy so that you can stop disturbing people. Back in college days, she used to suggest me, “hey! watch this movie. It’s brilliant.” “Did you see that movie? It’s amazing”.
    And now it’s you.
    What the hell? Can’t you two let me live in peace.
    Here, I don’t even have enough speed to download a song? Where do you expect me to get the movie from?
    Huh!

    By the way, I have a post named “Run Bips Run”. I didn’t even know about this movie when I wrote the blog :). Looks like I am brilliant by birth πŸ˜›

  5. @Arpit In college? How come I never got my hands on it then?

    @Bentley Hey…no dissing Lola Kutty! πŸ™‚

    @Ruhi In that case you may like the segment shot by the same director in Paris je tΓ‘ime starring the lovely Ms Portman! πŸ™‚

    @Bips You do realize that Jeeta is going to hate it that you compare me with her right? πŸ™‚

    Run Bips Run! (I reckon you got that from Forrest Gump…’Run Forrest Run’!)

  6. 6 Ravenent

    Great movie… Your post brought back some good memories…

    BTW, does any post/comments section go by without you making a shameless plug on Natalie’s behalf? πŸ™‚

  7. @Ravenent Honestly, it is not intentional. Just happens. True love perhaps?

  8. 8 Ravenent

    ‘True’ love, eh? And what, pray tell, might that be?

  9. @Ravenent Um..do you really care?

  10. @Pres*:
    Actually, it’s inspired from “Forrest Gump” as well as “Run”.

    …and by the way, what happened to the comment that I put as prestidigitator???
    It should have appeared at no. 7. Censoring is bad Dude πŸ˜›

  11. @Bips Impersonation is bad too1 πŸ™‚

  12. Come’on. I wasn’t impersonating dude.
    Okay a little.
    But all I said was true. Didn’t I πŸ˜‰
    You see, even I am falling in love with her.


Leave a Reply

