The Week That Was

06Sep07

15319.jpgsholay1.jpglge_hotel_twin_kitchen.jpg

Over the last couple of weeks, I’ve been tempted to post on a range of topics but the lack of time coupled with some serious lethargy prevented the flow of…er…words. So I shall resort to cliche and write in points.

  • Californication: In spite of the gratuitous sesk and noodity (PG 13 you see), I love this show. The show follows the travails of a depressed has been writer trying to bring his life back on track. If you’re still not convinced, there are a bevy of beautiful women in every episode.
  • ”Tumhara Kya Hoga, RGV?” : Couldn’t resist. Ram Gopal Varma’s attempt at remaking Sholay has pissed off pretty much the entire country. Looks like his illustrious career is headed for the dogs now. Thankfully, our very own Lalettan has come out unscathed.
  • I have finally gotten an apartment after weeks of futile hunting. Of course, I had help and a person to get the lease transferred from.
  • Work is starting to feel like a long unfunny version of The Office.
  • A 3 year old kid (whose parents are software professionals from Cognizant and Satyam Computers) was kidnapped in Hyderabad and subsequently released. Police claim the reason the parents didn’t receive any ransom calls could have been because the family’s land line was out of order. Could have been. Can you come up with a smarter deduction?
  • I have this sudden yearning for travel. I’m seriously contemplating visiting Tasmania.
  • I have been (re)reading Name of the Rose for over 2 months now…haven’t been able to finish it yet. When did I get so slow?
  • Apple has gone ahead and announced the iPOD Touch…that too 2 months after I bought a 30 gig iPOD!
28 Responses to “The Week That Was”

  1. Well yes,,the RGV has indeed pissed off the sholay and ofcourse RGV’s fans..
    i guess what wonders another company is going to create which has bought the rights of sholay again
    ..
    and about the news of 3 year old’s kidnapping the reason’s seems to be funny but plausible ..they might have been tired of calling finally got no reasont o keep the baby with them.. πŸ˜›

  2. i’m going for iPhone .. wen it comes to india ..

  3. Apple is assimilating the “Touch” technology in everthing now, I guess. But the hard disk space is really less. That way, iPod classic is really cheap- $249 for 80 GB and $299? for $160 GB.

    I’m having trouble deciding which one I should go for- Touch or classic. I think Apple will start phasing out classic pretty soon…Nano looks pretty nice too, with the video addition.

    Congratulations on finding an apartment. Where were you staying all this time? In a hotel?

  4. @Aravind That’s exactly what I thought. Next time somebody’s kidnapped…cut the phoneline.

    @Johnny: Um…I’m guessing it won’t cost that much now that they’ve slashed the prices in the US.

    @Ruhi I’ve been staying at a hotel for the last 3 months…company paid. πŸ™‚

  5. 5 bApHoMEt

    I’d go for the iPod Classic. 160 GB of memory means I can pretty much empty my entire MP3 collection onto it hehehe.

    Is that the picture of your apartment?

  6. Oohh..that’s still brutal. Is there a shortage of living space in Melbourne?

  7. Is that the picture of your apartment?
    Yeah.. is it :-O
    …and what’s the charge?

    Talking about IPods… nobody looking forward to the Wizpy-s??? 😦

  8. 8 Swen

    I was looking forward to the wizpy until the touch ipod came…

  9. @Baphomet well…that’s how the apartment looks like on the website. Replace those bed covers with mine and I think it’ll look more or less the same!

    @Ruhi Well…real estate and interest rates have gone up here so trust me…finding an apartment was one of the hardest tasks of my life!

    @Bips it’s bloody expensive dude…almost a third of my salary. No other choice!

    @swen Trust me…you’ll change your mind. Just like the laptop! πŸ™‚

  10. 10 bApHoMEt

    u got yourself a nice home there buddy. u staying alone? will u be sharing it with someone?

  11. @bApHo*:
    Of course not.
    I’ll be there to give him company πŸ˜‰

  12. 12 bApHoMEt

    @Bipin: I wonder what Swen will have to say to that.

  13. @bApH*:
    Don’t worry.
    Punns loves him enough to sacrifice his bed for Swenny. What say Punny? πŸ˜›

  14. @Baphomet I’ll be staying alone. It’s actually *just* big enough for one.

    @Bipin Well…trust me neither Swen or you are getting anywhere near here. I’m starting my life anew!

  15. 15 bApHoMEt

    @Bipin and Swen: You hear that mates? You two are gonna be kicked out of the flat if you ever come near it.

    @Prestidigitator: Now that you’ve made your point clear to these clingers and slammed the door in their faces, we need to decide how we divide the space. You take the bed and I’ll take the couch. We will switch positions every night. this way, both of us will get enough ‘bed’time. You’ve lost weight Punnen-mon, i will cook some nice dinner for ya. Veg or Non-veg? by the way, the fridge is near empty, pick up something from the supermarket when you go out next time.

    p.s. Mind if i bring over a ‘friend’ tomorrow? She’ll be gone by the time you come back from work.

  16. @baphomet wtf?!

  17. 17 bApHoMEt

    @pres: i know it was a sudden decision. you can’t expect me to let you stay there alone while vultures are trying to get in and take your precious living space like that. dont worry, I will be bringing my stuff by later. till then i need to borrow some clothes from you too. I know you wont have a problem, but i just thought i’d ask.

    aaahh…yep…you and me….hmmm. so, whats the plan for tonight? shall we cuddle up (in a non gay way…heard its evry cold in australia) on the couch and watch a film?

  18. @baphomet Er…no thanks. I’m not too much of a ”cuddler”.

    You can have the couch. And dinner better be ready by 9. Also I get up early so make sure coffee’s ready by 6.

  19. 19 bApHoMEt

    @Prestidigitator: only if u give me a backrub with herbal oil.

  20. New low bro. Even for you. 😐

  21. 21 bApHoMEt

    @Pres: LOL. you got me here.

    okay. change of subject. do you think you can find a nice pretty ausie chic to share the apt. with you? (which i believe was your original plan)

  22. 22 noconvolutions

    i am sooooooooooooooo jealous of you looking at your apartment.detest you even more for making me realise a loooooot of things with that overly clean room.buuugging u…buuuuging u…

  23. 23 noconvolutions

    hey informing you before-hand…soon m going to write a post with the heading “the week that wasn’t”.dare you ever blame me of plagiarism.only cyrus broacha can n you already know whyyyyyy.but it’s still to be decided how soon it’ll be.gigigigigigi

  24. 24 Swen

    Damn a lot happened in this post. And i wasnt even aware of it ..

  25. 25 Swen

    @Punns
    I made up my mind about the laptop a long time ago..

  26. @baphomet Well yeah, that was the plan…but you know…the apartment is a bit too small. But then again, I’m not against any Aussie chick staying for a couple of days. I’m a gentleman!

    @noconvolutions chill jackass…i wont have two beds…and it wont be that clean once i move in. Plus I’m paying an arm and a leg for the flat…so quit being jealous.

    @Swen so all that’s left now is the ”buying” part then?? 😐

  27. 27 bApHoMEt

    @Pres: the smaller the better when it comes to sharing apartments with hot chics.

    @Swen: hey, wait a minute, i thought you’d have bought that laptop by now by the way you way you were telling me about it. the dell XPS right?

  28. 28 Anonymous

    i rmember umberto eco from a semiotics class sometime back… hey…did u ask nat portman if she wants to move in???


Leave a Reply

