The Science of Slack

17Oct07

It’s amazing how much of a couch potato I’ve become over the last five months; so much that I actually spend most of my waking life perched (for want of a better word) on the couch with my eyes glued to the computer or television or in rare cases, a book.

I try justifying the lethargy by convincing myself that the lack of physical exertion is being compensated by my more intellectual pursuits namely films, music and stimulating television shows (read Are You Smarter Than a Fifth Grader). The lack of drive to do anything worthwhile is taking it’s toll on me. The constant urge to gorge down large amounts of junk food has already contributed to the 15 extra kilos I now possess.Β  Wait…I do spend hours trying to get the G chord right…that’s exercise right?

Like every other time, I’ve made a resolution that no doubt will be forgotten a week down the line. I’ve decided to give jogging a try.

Thanks to bodily functions and the fact that I have day job; else I’d have grown roots by now.

32 Responses to “The Science of Slack”

  1. lol, it’s a patch. Join a league, club or something. If you are into team stuff, if not jogging should work. But see, for me you shoudl enjoy an activity to want to stay committed to it. You see what I mean?

    or let me know, I can nag you with emails and send u arbit reminders at completely unforeseen times πŸ˜‰

  2. Funnily, I saw this game titled “Are you smarter than a fifth grader” yesterday in the Mall. Thought that it’s some kind of “General Knowledge” testing kind of thing. I guess the game is based on the book?

    As for exercise…yeah, we need it. When I was a kid, running around or cycling or jogging etc. came so naturally to me. That was the only thing that I really enjoyed. Now I have to remind myself to exercise, which is fun if you’re doing something that you like doing. So, that might help. πŸ™‚ I love swimming and try to do it 2-3 times a week. It’s good not to make a routine out of it, else you might get bored very soon. Variety is the key πŸ˜›

  3. 3 robinjives

    wats wit u n my bro gainin extra weight? i ve been tryin.. n i wud be lucky if i cud gain 4.
    on the other hand i do not rooted in my room… so u may wanna think bout joinin a gym.. just the fact tat u spent on it will make u wanna go..

  4. ruhi: Some of those questions can really stump you. We watch it at home, as it’s safe program at 8 pm πŸ™‚

  5. @rads Sports not so much. This jogging thing is killing me….my entire body ahes and it’s been just one day. What really irks me is that 70 year olds don’t pant as much as I do in the park! 😐

    Arbit reminders are welcome!

    @Ruhi That show gives me a damn inferiority complex every damn time….it’s not *that* easy.

    You swim? Now you’re making me feel worse!

    @robin I did go to the gym the first few weeks I was here but i realized I’m not that kind of person…I’m not really into developing a 6 pack and all. πŸ™‚

  6. @rads and presti: I see! Sounds fun πŸ™‚ I don’t watch TV though. (No wonder I have never heard of this show).

    You swim? Now you’re making me feel worse!

    that wasn’t my intention 😐

  7. 7 bApHoMEt

    @Pres: Don’t let anybody else fool you man. Lethargia is the best place to be. I’ve been here a while, and though like you, i had guilt about gaining weight and developing flab, I’ve outgrown that phase (too bad that many people dont). Now, I am so comfortable with me, that I dont even bother to look in the mirror anymore.

    Jogging, resolution…all greek to me.

  8. 8 Swen

    @Baph
    I agree with u there, but once your colleagues start taking more interest in your physical condition than their own work, resolution , jogging all pop back into the picture. Right , presti?

    @Presti
    I swim. But i still look the same. Now you must be feeling a lot better πŸ™‚

  9. @Baphomet Well…see…I do look in the mirror a lot plus I’m a very giving person. I’m doing this just for the ladies.

    @swen You see…you’re fat and ugly to start with. Swimming isn’t going to change that. Me…I’m different. πŸ™‚

  10. 10 Swen

    @Presti
    Well on a scale of 1 to Swen you would hardly reach a 7 (and that’s just because are my friend. And off course Swen being highest value of good looks).

  11. 11 cendrelin

    oh my oh my….. hey u still into that nat portman thing??? i can almost see teh headlines now..couch potatoe scares actress, asks for a date… hehe….

  12. 12 bApHoMEt

    @Swen: What’s this Swenny? Swimming? Working out? Obsession with physical beauty? A scale of ‘Swen’? Where is that ugly bum who used to hang out with me in school?

    and where would I be on the scale of 1 to Swen?

    @Pres: “I’m starting with the man in the mirror,
    I’m asking him to change his ways.

    If you wanna make the world a better place,
    Take a look at yourself and make a change.”
    Your generosity inspires me to be a giving person too. Its just that we both want to ‘give’ to the same girl.

  13. @cendrelin Yes…and I will be into that ”nat portman thing” for a long time to come.

    @Baph Swen is still that ugly bum. Things haven’t changed except that he’s more delusional now.

    Pick another girl for your ‘giving’, kay?

  14. 14 bApHoMEt

    @Pres: Why should I pick another girl? Why can’t you?

  15. @Baph Because my love is true and it’s higher than the hills and deeper than the oceans.

  16. 16 bApHoMEt

    @Pres: From the way you put it, I must add that your love is as corny as they come.

    My love is more gentle and pure. It’s not about heights and depths. It’s about a boy standing in front of a girl, asking her to love him. (Sob)

  17. @Baph Holy frick. That was cheesier than mine, not to mention the fact that it was borrowed from Notting Hill. At least mine was borrowed from the Bible…I think.

  18. @Pres*:
    Writing all this here is just a way to let the guilt off your shoulders.
    A slacker will always be a Slacker dude! Be proud! πŸ˜›

    By the way, your G-Chord reminds me of F-minor (if I remember properly) after which I gave up πŸ˜€

  19. @Bips I’m determined *not* to give up at guitar dude…plus I’m usually not a slacker, I hate not doing anything. πŸ™‚

  20. Learning those staff notations is quite difficult. I remember doing it for the piano. I hope I haven’t forgotten them. That is why it was such a treat watching Bleu and seeing those staff notations. I wish I could compose music without sitting in front of the piano/synthesizer.

  21. 21 Swen

    @Baph and Presti
    Who you calling an ugly Bum? Thats its Joey .. you are a 2 and Punns is a 3

    Oh , just for the record , Natalie Portman aint that pretty.

  22. Oh , just for the record , Natalie Portman aint that pretty.

    …lightening… thunders in the sky… Ruhi sitting on one corner with her Piano, singing something from IT Act 2000….
    … and Punns emerges from darkness with a sword (in right hand) and a guitar in the left (with a sticker of Nat.)…
    Punns looks at Swen and says….
    Go on Punns. Unleash your anger…:P

  23. @bipin, what do you mean singing something from IT Act 2000?! Legal clauses and sub clauses aren’t that musical, in case you didn’t notice πŸ˜› I would provide background music for something like

    “natalie…you aren’t that pretttyyyy
    but you’re still my sweet kitty”… πŸ˜›

  24. 24 Swen

    @Bips
    So you are actually supporting Presti ?? What about Baph?

    @Ruhi
    Inspired by smelly cat?

  25. @Ruhi:
    Actually I have been trying to start my study for the IT Act 2000 for quite some time now. The book has been lying on my self for a long time. 😦
    So, I thought that since I am requesting you to sing, why not something that will inspire/motivate me πŸ˜› Moreover, your resume says you are good πŸ™‚

    @Swenny:
    Me not supporting anyone dude! I am hoping (or must I say, waiting, especially after what you said ) for a catfight… πŸ˜›
    Yeah, what about Baph*???

    Inspired by smelly cat?

    That’s exactly what struck me πŸ™‚

  26. OK Boys and girls, I’m not going to retort.

    Swen: face it you’re ugly. Nothings going to change that…just be glad you have friends who’ll stick by you no matter how fat and ugly you get.

    Bips: Man…you have more of the dark side in you than the ”force”. You’re actually inciting a fight. Disappoint me you have young Padawan.

    Ruhi: Er…stop singing? πŸ™‚

  27. OK Boys and girls, I’m not going to retort.

    Duh! The biggest letdown of the century… 😦
    I was so excited. Damn you.

    Man…you have more of the dark side in you than the ”force”. You’re actually inciting a fight.

    I did incite nothing master. I saw it coming. It was here.
    It is you who has played with the destiny and tried to change it.
    Follow the force and do what must be done. Tear down Swenny into two.

    p.s. Puhleeeez do it. Give me some excitement… the weekend was a waste 😦

  28. Bipin: Get a life…really. 😐

    My weekend wasn’t great either. There’s always next weekend.

  29. 29 Swen

    @Punns
    Fat?? you have the nerve to bring that topic in here, you overweight moron.

    @Bips
    I second Punns: “Get a life”

  30. @bipin- pick up the book and start reading…that’s the only way to do it. πŸ™‚

    @bip &swen- I take that as a compliment! I always like the song “Smelly Cat”. πŸ˜›

  31. 31 Swen

    @Ruhi
    Sigh ..

  32. pick up the book and start reading…that’s the only way to do it. πŸ™‚

    Thanks. That was very helpful. eh! πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

