Across The Universe

02Nov07

200px-across_the_universe.jpg

http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0445922/

I confess. I love musicals and I love The Beatles. Mediocre reviews didn’t deter me from watching this psychedelic spectacle at the cinema. The film is eminently forgettable but sitting there for those two hours, one cannot help but marvel at the meticulously directed frames and the rousing score, all inspired by the fab four and the political and generational turmoil of the 60s and 70s.

across-the-universe-movie-03.jpg across-the-universe-movie-08.jpg across-the-universe-movie-22.jpg

The film is far too cliched but come to think about it, how many twists can you really put in a love story? The characters all have names that allude to Beatles songs and with a protagonist named Jude, you know ”Hey Jude” is pretty much a certainty.

A whimsical, gritty, flawed yet fun experience.

11 Responses to “Across The Universe”

  1. I love the new look of your blog And The Beatles!

  2. 2 bApHoMEt

    loving the new look too buddy. i wanted to see this film. how is Bono?

  3. The new look is great, the only trouble being the comments appearing at the end. (I thought you removed the comments feature hehe)

  4. @Ruhi Watch the film then. I’m fairly sure you’ll like it. Was experimenting with templates. I’m still to find a WordPress template that I really like.

    @Baphomet Bono is awesome…he gets to sing ”I am the walrus”! There’s even a cameo by Salma Hayek…5 Salma Hayeks! 🙂

    @Bipin Yeah…I don’t like the way the comments come at the bottom either…I wish wordpress came up with a really good template. I liked my previous one a lot but it was getting a bit too boring.

  5. 5 Dawkin's Rottweiler

    Not really relevant to this post, but I’m glad you’re listening to Radiohead & Buckley nowadays…

    “If music be the food of love, play on”

  6. 6 soorajrox

    Maybe you should give ‘Hairspray’ a watch.

  7. 7 Swen

    @Presti
    New look is good. but the comments are too far down ..

  8. @Dawkin’s Rottweiler: I listened to Buckley only once I got here. Grace is one of my favorite albums ever.

    @Sooraj Hairspray is on my list too…will give it a watch as soon as I get a chance.

    @Swen I really WordPress had a more customizable template (Hope they’re reading this).

  9. 9 soorajrox

    @prest…
    I like most of the templates in wordpress, but I’d always like make the body width a little more..wider and sidebars.actually I wish that they do read this.

  10. 10 soorajrox

    oh…yeah, just noticed that u saw ‘Death at the Funeral’….write/send the review of it.

  11. @Sooraj Yep will mail you about the film soon…


Leave a Reply

