The Pretender: Scourge of the Internet

19Nov07

If social networking sites weren’t absolutely necessary to keep alive fading (and in most cases banal) relationships, I would have distanced myself from Orkut, Facebook and the likes. However, I find myself reluctantly holding onto them simply because too many people I know (and would like to keep in touch with) are on it.

A week back I stumbled across a profile that looked suspiciously similar, save the name. The Interests section in particular had the exact same books I had on my profile once. Coincidence? Kindred spirit? Pretender. He even put them in the exact same order with the exact same spelling errors. The enlightened few among you may know that the technology for this exists today. CTRL+C. CTRL+V.

They say that imitation is a form of flattery, but I disagree. Imitation is the result of the lack of drive to pursue an area that one deems interesting. Imitation arises out of laziness. Sadly, the internet is as much a bane as it is a boon. Pretenders with the attention span of an autistic chimpanzee can look up Google or Wikipedia for dumbed down data regarding slightly denser information. I’m not against democratizing information per se, but the way I see it the likely result of “wannabe intellectualism” is the progressive weakening of the human gene pool. Or at least have the decency to follow through. Call it arrogance, call it whatever you want. But the fact is that good number of people seem content going through what was once akin to understanding Sartre by reading the Cliff Notes version. I personally know a handful of people who wax and wane about existentialism and Picasso based solely on what they have read on Wikipedia.

Angry as I was at this particular pretender, I confronted him (albeit politely) about his profile. After feigning ignorance, he proceeded to pass it off as coincidence and later came out with a half assed explanation that would make Dubya’s War on Terror seem like a masterstroke of genius, reason and logic.

I shall now refrain from further pseudo intellectual masturbation.

8 Responses to “The Pretender: Scourge of the Internet”

  1. Is it bad to imitate good things?! Is it not better to follow Bush than Osama??

  2. lol, that was a nice rant πŸ˜›

    as irritating and annoying the situation is, to retain sanity I’d suggest OM πŸ™‚

  3. Btw, like the new template. Ive been readin you through the reader, so donno when you’d changed it. But cool πŸ™‚

  4. Firstly, how did he get to your profile? If your profile is still public, then I would suggest that you edit the settings. πŸ™‚ This will keep all unwanted “visitors” away.

    If his explanations made Dubya’s book look like a masterpiece, then I say that the guy is a real genius!

  5. @IdeaNaren Um…imitation of qualities is a different thing isn’t it? Pretending to be a connoisseur of wine when you can’t stand the pungent liquid…now that’s pretending!

    @rads I tried OM…I think…the confrontation was my moment of epiphany! πŸ™‚

    @ruhi Ah…therein lies the kicker! He’s on my friends list…I went to school with him a long long time back. πŸ™‚

  6. @PS: This could very well be the most well written piece ive read in quite some time πŸ™‚

  7. Agree with Ruhi. At least the Dubya part is original.
    Or is it? 😐

  8. Agreed! If you know that rape is inevitable, you should enjoy it πŸ™‚ Or can at least follow Bhagavad Gita, by not concentrating/worrying on the outcomes. Our karma ends in putting our profile…


Leave a Reply

