Flock on!

25Nov07

Now that it’s out of the beta phase, I got myself to try out Flock 1.0. I am blown away, so much that I think I’ll be sticking with it.

Flock takes away the pain of searching for all those extensions you need for Firefox or even IE and simply integrates them into the UI of the browser. The UI itself is pretty neat to boot.

Blogger and WordPress users can upload their posts directly via the Flock editor which sadly cannot be used to upload pictures to be used in the post; you can only link them.

There is a sidebar for Facebook which is pretty nifty come to think about it as is the Flickr and Youtube widgets. One of my favorite things about the browser is the integrated feed reader; beats using Google Reader every time I want to check out my feeds.  Managing saved passwords and sessions is also fairly easy and organised.

The one thing I find a bit disconcerting is Me.dium which allows you to see what your friends are browsing. Why would I want to do that?

Every time something like this comes along, I think I’m getting more organized. But the truth is, it’s just another tool that takes me one step ahead along that path of lethargy.

Blogged with Flock

Tags: , ,

7 Responses to “Flock on!”

  1. Oh yeah!! We are gonna be flocking together yay!! ;-)! It’s pretty nifty the way they have integrated it all together!!

  2. WOW for a sec I thought I was reading some tech blog πŸ˜‰

  3. Even I wrote a post on Flock just today. Haha.

  4. 4 bApHoMEt

    I love this browser. been using it since the betas before the ‘people in the browser’ thingy came along. but i dont use it for blogging. i prefer Windows Live Writer anyday. i love the image bar and the starting dashboard. and yeah, the feed reader is one of the best around.

    p.s. the ‘Metropolis’ header is pretty cool. so does this men that you will be sticking with this theme then?

  5. @Guru I had the beta version but started using it only after I got the link from you.

    @Arpit er…yes. πŸ™‚

    @Ruhi I saw it after I posted this. But yours is way more elaborate. Coincidence? Providence?

    @Baphomet One of my colleagues got me a boxed set of Cult films including Metropolis and Plan 9 From Outer Space. I’m thinking of changing the header images once in a while.

    Also, check out Batman: Mask of the Phantasm. The architecture is very reminiscent of Metropolis…even the giant robots.

  6. @ Joe: Dude, Writer rules. Been trying to find a replacement for the same in the Mac. Have not been successful so far. However, loving Flock as I think they have what it takes to make the browser my starting point. ;-)!

    Also, anyone tried out FF3.0 Beta 1 yet? Some of the features are set out to give some competition to Flock..

    However, kudos to Flock for bringing on 1.0 =)! Also, just for the record, been using Flock ever since betas… But gotta agree, they finally got panache. =)!

    However, I still hate the fact that they are wasting so much space by forcing the Flock bar on us. Have made some customizations, but I lost the cool single chrome buttons of Flock bar to full color buttons now =(!

  7. 7 bApHoMEt

    @Pres: Metropolis and Plan 9? LOL one of the best sci-fi films ever along with the worst in a set? Talk about length and breadth. phew! (i’ve only heard about Plan 9)

    @Guru: i tried the gran turismo during the alpha stage. totally forgot about it till now. will give the beta a try.


Leave a Reply

