Daryna: A Personality Upgrade

28Jan08

It took me over 2 years to work up the courage to completely (no dual boot!) switch to a Linux distribution; and I’ve finally done it. Linux Mint 4.0 (Daryna). It took most of my day (and Swen‘s) yesterday to complete the move and I have to say, I can’t help but me amazed by the possibilities.

Installation was a breeze, took all of fifteen minutes and configuring the system was easier. Most of the stuff worked straight out of the box, including the video, sound and graphics drivers. Installed Compiz Effects (a compositing window manager) which makes Vista look like a cheap knock off.

What I did have was a little trouble with getting the net set up but that was because my new ISP uses the PPPoE protocol. A bit of googling fixed that ($ sudo pppoeconf at the terminal window solves everything) and I was online to get live support that got me through the rest of the process.

I remember complaining about how Linux was a major pain to use back in college but boy has it come a long way in the last 2 years!

Natalie has a better personality now. Way better.

[YouTube=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQDJWi9yrTw]

8 Responses to “Daryna: A Personality Upgrade”

  1. 1 Swen

    Finally…

  2. Swenny : monkey test worked ! Experiment success. This is a huge benchmark !!!

  3. Very nice!! So how does it feel to be open through and through?

  4. 4 Swen

    Announcement to the World:

    If Presti can use Linux. So can you.

    @Johnny:

    Let’s break out the champagne

    @Presti
    Party time is over. Back in the cage.

  5. @Johnny Who you calling monkey? *scratches armpits*

    @Guru Dude…it feels oddly liberating and dare I say…elitist? 🙂

    @Swenny Awww…do I have to go in now? 😦 *scratches armpits again*

  6. Awezome news! Congrats Dude 🙂

    I wish someday I could move *completely* too. Currently my work prohibits me. 😦

    btw, what’s this new pic of yours? It’s looks like a…ummm.. ball.

  7. @Bipin You do realise you can run a windows emulator like WINE or VmWare right?

    The new avatar is a pic of HAL, that psychopathic AI unit from Kubrick’s 2001: A Space Odyssey. 🙂

  8. My oh my, monkey talk :P!


Leave a Reply

