Mrs Carmody, Jesus loves you more than you will know. Us, not so much.

13Feb08

marciagayharden.jpg

The greatest horror films have always been the ones where the monsters/ghosts were merely plot devices; real evil it seems is more often human in nature than say, floating apparitions or giant locusts. Watched Frank Darabont‘s (of Shawshank Redemption fame) The Mist last night and what disturbed the audience more than the tentacled monsters was Marcia Gay Harden‘s brilliant performance as a Bible thumping, right-wing Christian zealot – Mrs Carmody.

So effective was her portrayal of an unnerving Jim Jones like persona that the audience (all 15 of us) burst out cheering and applauding as one particularly jolting Revelations inspired monologue was cut short by a bullet to the head (oh yeah, that was a spoiler). As exaggerated as the character was etched out to be, it did remind me of a few people I knew back in the day (i.e. 2 years back); the kind that hammered your head with a Bible, doomsday mongers, backers of a loving and forgiving yet somehow vengeful God.

Mrs Carmody a friend said, is just one of those people you love to hate.

12 Responses to “Mrs Carmody, Jesus loves you more than you will know. Us, not so much.”

  1. Man, I am dying to see this film. If it is anything like 1408 (and I am assuming it is better), I am sure to enjoy it.

  2. The film was better than 1408 and far more cynical. It does have it’s share of patchy dialogues (in the beginning) but once they hole up in the supermarket, it gets very tense.

    It’s no Shawshank Redemption or even Green Mile but nonetheless very effective.

  3. Haven’t seen this movie, but going by yours and Bap’s comments, I’m not sure if I’ll want to watch it…because I quite disliked 1408. Looks like our movie tastes don’t exactly match. 😐

  4. I’m really looking forward to seeing it. The novella/short story it’s based on is one of my favourite King stories… But I still gotta wait a little till it’s out here.

  5. @Ruhi To each his/her own I guess.

    @Kalafudra The ending to the film is incredible; I for one loved it. Very different from the novella and very very very cynical.

    If you can sit through King fare, you may like this…but it’s a film with flaws a plenty. We’re talking about giant bugs and flying creatures here…so i guess it’s alright. 🙂

  6. 6 Ravenent

    Can’t wait to watch this! BTW, how’re the tentacles?

    I just sat and listened to my binaural CD of the novella again. Must say it’s an incredible experience that never diminishes with time.

  7. @Ravenent The CGI ain’t that great and it does have it’s share of crappy lines but on the whole…a really good horror flick.

    BTW…do you have a link as to where I can get the binaural file?

  8. 8 soorajrox

    Remember Marcia Gay Harden from Miller’s Crossing and Mystic River. She was kinda brilliant in Mystic River as Tim Robbin’s wife.

  9. @sooraj Harden is this one is nothing like we’ve seen before. I swear I almost got up to strangle her. She being a character in a film didn’t help. 🙂

  10. 10 Ravenent

    @PS: Well, got it a very long time ago, possibly back in the dark ages when I used stuff like LimeWire, Ares etc. 🙂 I’ll see what can be done about it…

  11. First time I noticed Marcia was in a now-forgotten TV show (Education of Max Bickford), although I am sure I must have seen her before. She’s a great actress.

    Speaking of Bible-thumping, one of the movies in my Netflix queue is “Jesus Camp

  12. @BPSK For something more scandalous, check out ‘Deliver Us From Evil’…guaranteed to have you squirming in your seats.


Leave a Reply

