Man-Boy

09Mar08

Epiphanies are dime a dozen; even while packing stuff into boxes. Nomadic exasperation perhaps. I’ve realized I have just a single pair of jeans; that too, one that hasn’t been washed in a couple of months and has been worn more times than it was designed for. All my t-shirts have insignias of marginally obscure cartoons a la Thundercats, comic book characters and band logos. I live in my own little delusional biosphere; oxygenated by seemingly intellectual literature, obligatory rock and indie music, cinema and distorted nostalgia. I pretend to care about things I don’t and am apathetic to the things that may matter. I lift lines from films hoping people won’t notice. I have nothing original to say; And now I learn that I am a cliche. Not a beautiful and unique snowflake. Organic decaying matter.

I’ve been told I act far too old for my age as many times as I’ve been chided for not growing up. In all likelihood, I’ll be that guy who hits 40 and still thinks he’ll make it in a band. Will mediocrity be the result of my struggle for a non conformist higher ground?

And today, she calls me a hipster. There is nothing that soothes the soul like being reduced to a stereotype. Nothing.

8 Responses to “Man-Boy”

  1. She called you a hipster? She is right!!! She is a smart lady. But in all honesty, it takes a hipster to know a hipster.

    …Welcome to the club by the way.

  2. @baph Um…posted under Fiction. Frick…I should have written it in third person.

  3. 3 soorajrox

    “I’ll be that guy who hits 40 and still thinks he’ll make it in a band”

    we can form one that time.

  4. 4 Charl

    Gah. It lost a sizeable chunk of it’s charm it minute you said it was fiction.

    Though I’m sure there’s an element of yourself in that…that age bit makes me think that πŸ™‚

    Anyhoodle…now that we know it’s not you going all confessional: I always imagined you had a nice urban dressing sense, you know. Like…something out of the Friday dressing section of Koutons. So please tell me you have a lot more than a single pair of unwashed jeans?

  5. @Sooraj Hehe dude…but you’ve heard me sing right? 😐

    @Charl Au Contraire milady, I have only a single pair of jeans (thoroughly washed) though I do have a number of cotton trousers; I work a day job you know. πŸ™‚

    Well isn’t everything we write a wee bit autobiographical? As much as I’d love to say I have a nice urban dressing sense, I don’t. 😐

  6. 6 soorajrox

    dirt jeans huh? hmmm. do u still have that orange colored towel??

  7. @sooraj I’ve retired the orange one. It’s unfair to take shots at it…I bought that one out of sheer desperation! πŸ˜‰

  8. 8 soorajrox

    @presti.
    sorry. somehow i pictured you still having it.


Leave a Reply

