Cash

08Apr08

There are barely a handful of artists whose music perfectly accentuates whatever state I’m in. The last time I was this moved by an album was when I listened to Jeff Buckley’s Grace for the first time; an underrated (by today’s general public I mean) masterpiece – the kind of music that slowly grows on you and before you know it, consumes you.

Johnny Cash‘s (1932 – 2003) American IV: The Man Comes Around is undoubtedly the work of a man relapsing into the cold comfort of religion in his last days but that shouldn’t put you off of it. Some of the tracks do have not-so-subtle religious overtones but then again, the songs are so organic, so heartfelt that you cannot help but go back and take them in all over again. One of the truly brilliant tracks on the disc is his cover of “Hurt” by Trent Reznor (yes, of Nine Inch Nails fame). The song takes a completely different meaning when sung by Cash; lending credence to that Edith Wharton saying, “There’s no such thing as old age, there is only sorrow.”

The video, for your viewing pleasure-

19 Responses to “Cash”

  1. I love “Hurt”. A-fucking-mazing song.

  2. Johnny Cash!!! Thanks for the link bro. Brilliant. I must confess that I started listening to Cash only after “Walk The Line.” And I am glad that I did, though I started late, I am a believer in Cash.

  3. 3 Swen

    coincidence or what? Just on Saturday, Joey was telling me about Johnny Cash and

  4. @kalafudra More amazing is the fact that Cash even thought about covering a NIN track…

    @baphomet and Swen: See swenny…great minds think alike; unlike you. But then, we have accepted you for the retard you are, wokay? πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Charl

    Didn’t wanted to throw coincidences all over the place (since we’ve had way too many lately), but since it’s the topic of conversation here anyway… On Sunday evening I happened to play a Johnny Cash compilation on the stereo and basically danced around the place. I’m talking swing. No one was home, so yeah. It was fun.

    PS: I haven’t yet touched my NIN music, but from having listened to Cash’s cover Hurt some years ago, I know that Trent Reznor is a great lyricist (and very hot). Also liked his cover of Depeche Mode’s Personal Jesus. You know, Cash was also going to do Till Kingdom Come, a lovely track on Coldplay’s X&Y, with Chris Martin, but he died before they could recorded his part. I do wonder what it’d sound like if he did it:-\

  6. @Swen: Tsk Tsk. Your sole purpose these days seems to be setting up jokes and offering them on a platter to Punnen or Me to deliver the punch line. (and the i stress the ‘Punch’)

    @Punns: Whats up with you these days? Not much of blogs, not much of mails. Here’s me confronting you in public – Found a girl?

    @Charl: Dancing around the room alone listening to Johnny Cash. He he he Cute. What are you? 12? πŸ˜‰

  7. @Charl Um…isn’t NIN a little too um…I don’t know…*heavy* for you? 😐

    On Cash covering Till Kingdom Come…don’t you think it would’ve been awesome if he did a cover of Swallowed in the Sea? Think about it…thematically…it’s right up his alley. Then again, so is Till Kingdom Come.

    @Baphomet : Found a girl? Um…shouldn’t you know by now (like yours truly), that it’s not like they’re just lying around waiting to be *found*. Girls I mean.

    Just been tied up dude…the usual. Plus no net at home. Not yet anyway.

  8. 8 Charl

    @Baph: Nah, just too damn cute.

    @Pres: Arrgh, Swallowed in the Sea breaks my heavy little heart every single time.

    And NIN, Isn’t it a little to heavy for you? You’re primarily into that mellow, acoustic sound huh? Me, I listen to rockstars that shoot up at shows, break instruments after shows, and do groupies and swear beautifully, all the while churning out unfuckingbelievable music.

  9. @Presti*: A bird in Washington DC tells me that a rat in Australia is smitten by a kitten. So, if I was wrong, my bad. We both know that the bird in Washington DC has a penchant for tall tales and dumb rhetoric. But in my gut, there’s this feeling you know.

    @Charl: Ooh, cute, and into heavy ‘unfuckingbelievable’ music. Why, oh why are you still in India? Can’t you come here and make my day? Or maybe go to Australia and lie around for the Presti* to find you?

  10. 10 Swen

    @Baph
    Tall tales ? Setting up for a punch ? dumb rhetoric? retard? I’m seriously on the wrong thread here.

  11. @Baph: That bird in Washington DC is an ass. The rat in Australia is fairly sure that the other ass in Fredrick is just going through a funk of sorts. The rat is not smitten yet and will let the ass know as soon as things go down, for what, the rat isn’t quite sure. (I think I may have confused myself)

    @Swen Nah…take a seat. You’re at home, Swenny.

  12. @Swen: I forgot to mention that without you, this thread would be nothing bro. You are like the comic relief to our lives.

    @Presti*: And you sir, are turning into quite the villain in our lives! But then, you can always do the whole turn-for-the-good thing at the end you know. Like in our story, you would land the hot girl. And then, you would become friends with her friends, and then hook Swenny and me up with some of them. Aaah, a boy can dream.

  13. 13 Pink Imp

    just for kicks.
    charl, hello! πŸ™‚
    hi presti πŸ˜€

  14. @baphomet: When and if I land a hot girl (c’mon you know the odds), I’ll make sure (trust me) that I tell her friends about you. Fear not. 😐

    @Pink Imp: Um…hello? πŸ™‚

  15. 15 Ravenent

    Birds, rats, kittens? Ah, the proverbial mΓ©nagerie Γ  trois, I take it? πŸ™‚ (That, or you\’re all talking in code about a Tom & Jerry cartoon for some reason.) Hmm, throw in some Jack and Jenny Doe asses into the mix and you\’ve all the makings of a modern day Animal Farm! πŸ˜‰ (Man, this thread got weird pretty quick even by your standards, eh PS?)

    Re. Trent Reznor and NIN, the closest I\’ve got to their work is the soundtrack they supplied for Quake (oh yeah! :-D) That, and I appreciate the fact that NIN finally broke free from their studio and released Ghosts I-IV under the Creative Commons license.

  16. @Ravenent Dude…I think I’m resigned to the fact that the comment threads on this blog will always stray from the topic of the post.

    Let’s not forget Radiohead too broke away from the studio model and created a near perfect album. I’m one of the few who purchased the album off their site for…0$. πŸ™‚

  17. Somehow, I missed the comments here, after I had my say… very interesting :).

    I hope your break won’t be too long! Missing your movie analyses and other stuff…

  18. Good call on Hurt – its one of my favourite covers/tracks.

  19. I’m in the process of reviving my www life by consolidating my two blogs, and shifting to PROJectBee.org
    Kindly update your blogrolls, feedreaders etc., as applicable.
    –Thanks.

    BTW, what’s with the latest *Break in the Continuum* post? You taking a break from blogging?


Leave a Reply

