Perfection

10Jul08

“You’ve forgotten one thing – me.”
“What’s wrong with you?”
“Nothing you can’t fix.”

That one final scene from The Big Sleep gives me gooseflesh every damn time I watch it; one of those perfect moments in cinema. Seriously, why don’t people talk like that anymore?

13 Responses to “Perfection”

  1. Not that I want to ruin the film for you… But actually, I doubt that anyone ever talked like that.

  2. Don’t we talk to each other like that?

  3. Maybe you and presti do… I don’t 😛

  4. @kalafudra Shush! Don’t be a buzzkill. Also, we should try having a conversation on similar lines. With our smoldering chemistry and all, heaven knows where it will lead. 😛

    @baphomet Um, no. We don’t. But remember ‘Coffee’? I think we played out our fantasies on paper with that one! 🙂

  5. 5 bpsk

    Your post seems to be the antonym of chronocentricity (the belief that the times one lives in is the most important). 🙂

    In any case:
    http://freakonomics.blogs.nytimes.com/2008/07/10/our-daily-bleg-21st-century-movie-lines-only/

  6. @bpsk Believe it or not, there are days I think I’d fit in a lot better were I born in the 70s…heck even the 60s! But then again, considering my love for all things 80s (read Thundercats, Back to the Future etc…), chronocentricity does hold true to an extent. 🙂

    Oh thanks for the link; though a few Charlie Kauffman gems seem conspicuously absent.

  7. Combine it with Yoda’s _grammatical_ rendering engine:

    “Forgotten have you one thing – me.”
    “What’s wrong with you?”
    “Fix you can’t, nothing”

    /me hiding of embarrassment. 😛

  8. @Prestidigitator: If only you were a girl…

    @Kalafudra: Ignore the Presti*. Doesn’t our chemistry smolder more?

  9. 9 ramblingperfectionist

    you don’t actually think that WORKS, right?

  10. @Bipin :\

    @Baphomet You’ve said too much.

    @ramblingperfectionist: Oh it does work but it takes two to tango you know… 🙂

  11. @presti:
    Well, we could try sometimes, but I suck at those things… I’m warning you. Also, I think some of the charm is lost if you have to do it via e-mail.

    @baph:
    My smoldering chemistry seems to be omnipresent. I’m not sure if it is linked to one person or if it’s just me 😉

  12. @Presti*: True. The world now has too much information of the true nature of our relationship. Note to self: Will not divulge anymore sizzling information about the clandestine affair between myself and The Prestidigitator.

    @Kalafudra: Again and again, you push me away with these painful comments. (Sob) What must I do to prove to you that we are made for each other?

  13. @baph:

    I’m not pushing you away… But if you want to prove anything, I guess seeing each other face to face would be a good start 🙂


Leave a Reply

