Tinkering with AVCHD

07Dec08

After months of staring wistfully from outside camera stores, I finally went ahead and bought the Canon Vixia HF10 (uhuh, High Def).  Shooting has been a somewhat humbling experience but I’ll get there. Sooner or later.

Moving files around has been a tad tricky so I thought I’d document (sort of) what I did.

Linux:

If the device doesn’t mount, try ‘dmesg

# mkdir /camera
#mount /dev/sdb1 /camera
#cd /camera

MPlayer supports AVCHD (.mts) files, but you’ll need to compile MPlayer (http://www.mplayerhq.hu/design7/dload.html) from source.

Windows:

Couldn’t  install the proprietary software that comes with the camera because my netbook doesn’t support the minimumm resolution. So I had to convert the .mts files to .avi.

First, install the AVISynth base and then this (mts_2_xvid.rar) . Unpack the .rar file and copy the .mts files from the camera into the folder and run the batch file _multi_demux_mts_Xvid.bat. That nifty little piece of code compresses the video to .avi and saves it in the same folder.

Trust me, it’s way simpler than it sounds.

3 Responses to “Tinkering with AVCHD”

  1. So you finally figured it out. Its times like these when you realize how much better Windows is when compared to Linux. 🙂

  2. Dude, seriously?? That’s the most geek I have ever heard you speak =P! Awesome… btw, started a youtube channel so that you can share some of that HD goodness?

  3. @The Mute Oracle: Honestly, Linux still kicks ass. Once you get around the minor kinks, it’s so much better. And so much more fun.

    @Guru: I can hold my own in a nerdy convo any time of the day dude. Also, when I do feel the world is ready to see my ‘work’, I think I’ll post it on Vimeo instead of You Tube.


Leave a Reply

